The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 08, 2002, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 411
"But what if A1 is dribbling and B1 knocks it away so that A1 no longer has player control? Then A2 fouls B2 while trying to recover the loose ball. Does B2 get FTs? There's no player control, but there's still team control, right? So it seems like according to the new rule, we wouldn't shoot FTs. What does it mean for "the offense to have the ball"? Team control, or player control? Or doesn't it matter?"

Chuck,
This would be similar to a "loose ball foul."

Section XVII-(NBA RULE BOOK)
"Team Control"
A team is in control when a player is holding, dribbling or passing the ball. Team control ends when the defensive team deflects the ball or there is a field goal attempt.

According to this, there is no team control in this situation. If you're in the penalty, (bonus) Shoot the free-throws.
This would be different if A1 fumbles the ball, then holds B1 back while trying to re-gain possession. This would be an offensive foul, as team control never ended.
Drake


Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1