The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 02, 2002, 12:13am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett

_____ 14) While shooting a two-point shot, A1 is intentionally fouled by B1. The shot goes in the basket. The basket counts and A1 will be awarded one free throw, then Team A will get possession of the ball for a throw-in.

So, why doesn't the shooter get one shot for the made basket and then the two shots + the ball for the intentional?
Mark Dexter answered this above, but another way of thinking of it is that there is just one foul committed, not two - so you administer the penalty for that one foul. Since it is intentional, you administer the penalty for an intentional foul, just as Mark described.

Besides, as Judge Judy would say - THAT'S THE RULE!
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1