The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 09:50am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
Yes, the player muffed the ball. Let's fix it & resume play.
[Dependent of level of play]
Once I give him the ball, he's in charge.
When he muffs the ball due to a fake pass, or due to too many thumbs, if he leaves the designated spot he causes a violation of 7-6-3 leaving the spot before releasing a throw-in pass.

Lower levels could easily be do-overs.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 09:57am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mick - I agree, but didn't know we were speaking of faked passes... that would definitely be the players fault.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 10:01am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
"Muff" to me means the player never cleanly received the "pass" from the official. If he has the ball, fakes a pass, and loses control, all bets are off.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
"Muff" to me means the player never cleanly received the "pass" from the official. If he has the ball, fakes a pass, and loses control, all bets are off.
I agree.

But, there is (or was) an NCAA case play to the effect mentioned in the OP (after "controlling" (and I don't mean to imply Player Control) the ball, and then losing it, the player may retrieve it, return to the original spot and complete the throw-in)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 11:12am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
US football codes nicely defines muff as trying to obtain possession. A fumble is losing control of the ball when a player had possession.

Extending these terms along with JAR's comment is spot on. If we do re-admin the TI, start the 5-second count over, too.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
If we do re-admin the TI, start the 5-second count over, too.
Good point! lol It seems obvious to most but we know where assuming will get you.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I agree.

But, there is (or was) an NCAA case play to the effect mentioned in the OP (after "controlling" (and I don't mean to imply Player Control) the ball, and then losing it, the player may retrieve it, return to the original spot and complete the throw-in)
That's correct. Here is the ruling from the NCAA's 2008 Case Book.

Throw-in
A.R. 157.
A1, on a throw-in from a designated spot, fumbles. A1 leaves the
designated spot to retrieve the fumble. Is this a violation?
RULING: No. Since there was a fumble, the official shall blow his/her
whistle, which causes the ball to become dead, and then shall re-administer
the throw-in.
(Rule 7-6.5)

The NFHS has such a ruling for a FT shooter, but not for an inbounder.
FREE-THROWER LOSES BALL
9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free throw line to attempt a free throw (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) accidentally drops the ball before the throwing motion is started. RULING: In (a) and (b) the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 04:27pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
That's correct. Here is the ruling from the NCAA's 2008 Case Book.

Throw-in

A.R. 157.
A1, on a throw-in from a designated spot, fumbles. A1 leaves the

designated spot to retrieve the fumble. Is this a violation?

RULING: No. Since there was a fumble, the official shall blow his/her

whistle, which causes the ball to become dead, and then shall re-administer
the throw-in.
(Rule 7-6.5)

Good rule.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref

Throw-in
A.R. 157.
A1, on a throw-in from a designated spot, fumbles. A1 leaves the
designated spot to retrieve the fumble. Is this a violation?
RULING: No. Since there was a fumble, the official shall blow his/her
whistle, which causes the ball to become dead, and then shall re-administer
the throw-in.
(Rule 7-6.5)

The NFHS has such a ruling for a FT shooter, but not for an inbounder.
FREE-THROWER LOSES BALL
9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free throw line to attempt a free throw (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) accidentally drops the ball before the throwing motion is started. RULING: In (a) and (b) the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again.
It's interesting the NCAA does use the word "fumble", while the NFHS uses both "muffs" and "accidentally drops". It seems as though there may not be a difference in control, like the football reference between the words "fumble" and "muff".

While I don't disagree with the philosophy that a player that loses control while trying to fake a pass is different than a player that doesn't catch the pass cleanly from the official, there doesn't seem to be that distinction in the rules.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 05:54pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,464
Good Citations ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Here is the ruling from the NCAA's 2008 Case Book. Throw-in A.R. 157. A1, on a throw-in from a designated spot, fumbles. A1 leaves thedesignated spot to retrieve the fumble. Is this a violation? RULING: No. Since there was a fumble, the official shall blow his/herwhistle, which causes the ball to become dead, and then shall re-administer the throw-in (Rule 7-6.5

The NFHS has such a ruling for a FT shooter, but not for an inbounder.
FREE-THROWER LOSES BALL 9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free throw line to attempt a free throw (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) accidentally drops the ball before the throwing motion is started. RULING: In (a) and (b) the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again.
Nevaderef: Thanks for the citations. I wish the NFHS would have a casebook play, as the NCAA does, covering a fumbled throwin. Unless the player throwing in the ball is faking a pass, or doing something else with the ball to distract the defenders, if he, or she, simply drops the ball (fumbles, muff, etc.), I'm probably going to treat it as the NCAA citation, even if it's a NFHS game.

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Aug 27, 2008 at 06:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Nevaderef: Thanks for the citations. I wish the NFHS would have a casebook play, as the NCAA does, covering a fumbled throwin. Unless the player throwing in the ball is faking a pass, or doing something else with the ball to distract the defenders, if he, or she, simply drops the ball (fumbles, muff, etc.), I'm probably going to treat it as the NCAA citation, even if it's a NFHS game.


I'll readminister on a muff, but not on a fumble. Why does the player deserve another chance?

If A1 is holding the ball at the top of the key and drops it so that it rolls away, would you blow the whistle and give the ball back to the player? That would be silly.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2008, 02:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
If he dives towards the ball after muffing it does that make him a, er, never mind.
Whoa, you might offend someone such as rainmaker! Oh wait, she's not around anymore. Carry on then.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2008, 07:22am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Whoa, you might offend someone such as rainmaker! Oh wait, she's not around anymore. Carry on then.
She popped her head up a couple weeks ago - I bet she is reading some, still. Or maybe not. I dunno.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in spot buckrog64 Basketball 3 Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:45am
Throw-in Spot buffett Basketball 4 Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:24am
Throw in spot tjchamp Basketball 2 Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:55pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw-in spot Mlancaster Basketball 8 Mon Jan 15, 2001 07:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1