The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2000, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Post

In situation #1, if there was ANY possibility of the ball going in on its own, legitimate shot or simply a pass attempt, I believe we have to consider it a shot and count it a 3 even if tipped by the defense. Sounds like the "D" was pretty close by (just inside the arc?), so it might have been tough to tell if the ball clearly could not have gone in. But, if the lob pass was clearly on a low trajectory and then got deflected upward, subsequently going in, you could justify that it was not a legitimate shot and therefore only scores 2 points (see Casebook, 4.39.4A&B). If in doubt,though, I'd call it a shot and give him the 3 pts.

In situation #2, changing the shirt because of blood appears to be legitimate, whether or not the officials told the player to change it. However, the team does have to inform the refs. But...in order to assess a "T," the violation of rule has to be discovered at the time it occurs and penalized before the ball becomes live (see Casebook, 10.1.2). Once play resumes, it is too late to issue a technical for the changed shirt and number. Either way, if you caught it in time, it would be a normal team technical, not a flagrant or ejection.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1