The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2000, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1
Post

Team A scores a basket. Team B takes the ball out of bounds for a throw in. B1 is unable to complete the throw so he asks for a time out to a void a 5 second violtion.

Can Team B run the end line on the subsequent throw in?

My understanding is that the subsequent throw in is not after a basket but after a requested time out. The thrown in should be from a designated spot on the endline.

This situation is different from a requested time out immediately after a basket when the
throw in procedure has not started. In that case, since the thrown in had not started and
either team could request a time out, Team B could still run the end line on the subsequent throw in.

I thing 6.5 page 44 in the Federation case book covers this matter.

Comment: Running the end line is a advantage given by rule after a basket not after a time out. Why penalize good defence and reward poor offence? B1 had an oppoertunity to run the endline and get the ball in play.
They lose that opportunity by calling a time out while Team B was in possession of the ball out of bounds. Rule 7:5

Right or Wrong??
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1