| 
				  
 
			
			Team A scores a basket.  Team B takes the ball out of bounds for a throw in.  B1 is unable to complete the throw so he asks for a time out to a void a 5 second violtion.
 Can Team B run the end line on the subsequent  throw in?
 
 My understanding is that the subsequent throw in is not after a basket but after a requested time out.  The thrown in should be from a designated spot on the endline.
 
 This situation is different from a requested time out immediately after a basket when the
 throw in procedure has not started.  In that case, since the thrown in had not started and
 either team could request a time out, Team B could still run the end line on the subsequent throw in.
 
 I thing 6.5 page 44 in the Federation case book covers this matter.
 
 Comment:  Running the end line is a advantage given by rule after a basket not after a time out.  Why penalize good defence and reward poor offence?  B1 had an oppoertunity to run the endline  and get the ball in play.
 They lose that opportunity by calling a time out while Team B was in possession of the ball out of bounds. Rule 7:5
 
 Right or Wrong??
 
			
			
			
			
				  |