The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Apr 22, 2002, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member

hi. i am new to basketball and we had an argument when we played. my friend attempted a lay-up which I blocked. the ball never left his hand so when he landed he still had possession of the ball. can i call this up-and-down? what is the state of the play now?
Old Mon Apr 22, 2002, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member

when you say "up and down" do you mean travel, or a jump ball situation? if you are referring to a jump ball you are correct, but a travel is not.
Old Mon Apr 22, 2002, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member

It's usually a matter of degree:
If the defense pins the ball in the shooter's hands, it's usually considered a jump ball and possession goes with the alternating arrow. Picture a shooter pushing the ball from below as the defense has a hand firmly on top of the ball preventing the shot.

If the defense hits the ball a glancing blow on the shot preventing the shooter from releasing the ball and the shooter returns to the floor with the ball in his hands, he has traveled. Possession goes to the defense.

If the ball left the shooters hands for even a fraction of a second, there is no violation. That's a rebound.

BTW - There is no such thing as "up and down" just as there is no "over the back."
Old Fri May 24, 2002, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member

I'd like to add to this question and know if they both come down with the ball and, as noted, the jump ball is called - does that count statistically as a block?

Furthermore, is there some reference material on the web that highlights how to score basketball statistics that would cover unique situations as this one?

The basic rules that you can find never really touch on stat keeping.

Thanks in advance!
Old Fri May 24, 2002, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by stevegormley