The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2008, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Two points for White and the ball OOB for Green anywhere along the endline.

Why? Do you think that something different should have been called on the play?
So your saying goaltending and a blocking foul on green? Would white get to shoot a free throw as well?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2008, 06:25pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by mu4scott
So your saying goaltending and a blocking foul on green? Would white get to shoot a free throw as well?
Goaltending? No way. The ball was not above the rim. And it looked like the ball was on its way up. Two things you need to have GT were not present.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2008, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
I didn't think it was goaltending either. That's why I questioned the "two points for green".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2008, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by mu4scott
I didn't think it was goaltending either. That's why I questioned the "two points for green".
Two points for white is what nevadaref said. And that would be because #30 for white scored.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2008, 07:03pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Looks like a good no-call from the crappy angle we have. Looked to me like the defender flopped; couldn't tell why white stayed down, though.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2008, 07:15pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
First thing we've got is a Trail official (who becomes the new Lead) standing there and watching all the players take off down the court and then finally decides maybe he should get his a$$ going and thus is in absolutely no position to make any call on this play...luckily for him, I don't really think there was anything to call. There wasn't that much contact and the only reason the white player stayed down is because he hit his elbow on the floor...moral of the story - don't get beat down the floor on plays like this. That was just flat-out laziness.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2008, 07:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by mu4scott
So your saying goaltending and a blocking foul on green? Would white get to shoot a free throw as well?
Nope, that's not what I'm saying.

White make a basket on a follow-up attempt after the blocked shot. That's where the two points come from.

What GT are you talking about?

What blocking foul?

You still haven't stated what YOU believe should have been called on this play. Please be specific.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2008, 07:39pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Definitely not goaltending, but I think there's probably a blocking foul on the drive. The contact, even if slight, certainly seems to have sent A1 to the floor. Can't tell definitively from the camera angle, but I am leaning more toward the blocking foul than others seem to be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2008, 08:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Definitely not goaltending, but I think there's probably a blocking foul on the drive. The contact, even if slight, certainly seems to have sent A1 to the floor. Can't tell definitively from the camera angle, but I am leaning more toward the blocking foul than others seem to be.
Did the defender obtain his position before the offensive player became airborne?

Last edited by Nevadaref; Mon Aug 04, 2008 at 08:34pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1