The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 20, 2008, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
Difference of understanding with P...

Trying to get myself straight on a couple things....

First...I ended up with an inadvertant whistle...There was a full court press on and I hear TIMEOUT. I hit the whistle and both coaches are looking at me...I looked at offensive team coach and ask :30 or full? He said, I didn't request TO. I go w/ IW.

Subs were at the table for both teams. My P said they could not enter the game on IW...I thought they could because it's now a dead ball.

Secondly...

Very early in first half....Had a held ball with PA going toward Team A....During the dead ball before the inbound the table notifies that A23 is not in the book and scored the last bucket for Team A.

We issue Admin T....Team B shoots the two FTs. Team Bs ball...Correct?

I thought since it was a Tech...it should have been team Bs ball and the arrow did not change. Partner said we go back to POE and resume play and team A got the ball....then the arrow changes to Team B

What is correct? in this scenario...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 20, 2008, 09:08am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
Subs were at the table for both teams. My P said they could not enter the game on IW...I thought they could because it's now a dead ball.

Secondly...

I thought since it was a Tech...it should have been team Bs ball and the arrow did not change. Partner said we go back to POE and resume play and team A got the ball....then the arrow changes to Team B
Sounds like your partner was thinking about NCAA rules. In the NCAA, if the clock is stopped in the last minute of regulation or OT for an inadvertent whistle, then no subs are allowed. But even in NCAA, the subs are allowed at other times of the game.

Also in NCAA (men), you administer most technical fouls and then resume at the POI. This is only true in NFHS for double technical fouls.

So if you were supposed to be using NFHS rules, you were right both times. If you were using NCAAM rules, then your partner was right the second time and may have been right the first time, depending on when the inadvertent whistle occurred.

Last edited by Scrapper1; Mon Jul 21, 2008 at 01:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 20, 2008, 09:26am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
... In the NCAA, if the clock is stopped in the last minute of regulation or OT for an inadvertent whistle, then no subs are allowed...
Isn't that only for NCAA-W? NCAA-M if the whistle blows then subs get to come in?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 20, 2008, 10:11am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Isn't that only for NCAA-W? NCAA-M if the whistle blows then subs get to come in?
The short answer is "no".

Both rulesets prohibit subs from entering in the last 59.9 seconds when the clock is stopped for an accidental whistle. There was some difference when the rule first appeared between what constituted an accidental whistle. Those differences may be gone now. I can't find my NCAA book at the moment, and the NCAA website is not cooperating. So somebody else will have to supply the actual citation from Rule 3.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 20, 2008, 01:32pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
NCAA Rule 3-4.6

Art. 7. (Men) Substitution shall not be allowed when the game is stopped in the last 59.9 seconds of the second half or any extra period to correct a timing mistake or for an inadvertent whistle.

(Women) Substitutions shall not be allowed when the game is stopped in the last 59.9 seconds of the second half or any extra period for anything other than a timeout, a violation or a foul.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 20, 2008, 03:44pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer
Art. 7. (Men) Substitution shall not be allowed when the game is stopped in the last 59.9 seconds of the second half or any extra period to correct a timing mistake or for an inadvertent whistle.

(Women) Substitutions shall not be allowed when the game is stopped in the last 59.9 seconds of the second half or any extra period for anything other than a timeout, a violation or a foul.
Thanks, gamer. I like the Women's rule better on this one. I remember some discussion about blowing the whistle for the ball bouncing away from the inbounder. Should we let subs in at that point? It's not really an inadvertent whistle. I think the answer was that it actually is an inadvertent whistle, because you didn't need to blow it -- the clock was already stopped.

In any case, I think the Women's rule is clearer, more specific and easier to administer.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 21, 2008, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
First...I ended up with an inadvertant whistle...There was a full court press on and I hear TIMEOUT. I hit the whistle and both coaches are looking at me...I looked at offensive team coach and ask :30 or full? He said, I didn't request TO. I go w/ IW.
Full court press. IW seems to be an advantage for the offensive team. How about enforce the TO?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 21, 2008, 02:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
Full court press. IW seems to be an advantage for the offensive team. How about enforce the TO?
How? Unless you heard and saw the HC request it, how can you force him to burn one?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 21, 2008, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
How? Unless you heard and saw the HC request it, how can you force him to burn one?
5.8.3 situation e
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 21, 2008, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
5.8.3 situation e
Doesn't this cover the case where team A has the ball, and team B's coach requests TO? In other words, the official grants a request where one shouldn't have been granted. I don't think this would cover the situation where there was no request.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 21, 2008, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 505
Indiana,

don't have my books with me, but I still wouldn't grant a TO to team that should not be granted TO (team not in possession). This would give that team undue advantage to set up a play. IW and continue play
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
understanding time outs newofficialtn Basketball 6 Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:48pm
understanding correctable errors roadking Basketball 10 Wed Jul 14, 2004 09:58pm
understanding basic concepts cloverdale Basketball 1 Thu Apr 01, 2004 02:44am
Understanding Force mikesears Football 25 Thu Jul 10, 2003 01:54am
Knowing and Understanding Rules PeteBooth Baseball 7 Mon Dec 23, 2002 11:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1