The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2002, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
as referenced by eroe39 case book play 363.
player a1, prior to dribbling the ball, jumps and touches the ball to the basket ring or back board. he returns to the floor with the ball still in his possession. is this a traveling violation.
yes. because the ball has never left player a1's possession, there has been no field goal attempt. the ball must be out of his possession prior to his pivot foot returning to the floor to prevent a violation.

the rules that govern traveling are the same from pro to college to highschool. (except the 2 rythm count which has no bearing on this play.) i would call a travel on this play now that it has been identified, discussed and referenced.
__________________
tony
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1