The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Free Throw scenario / questions

Sorry for the less than direct title of this posting but this question needs a bit of set up. Here goes. (NFHS rules.)

In thinking about games I have refereed lately, I am noticing more players attempting to gain an advantage with respect to lining up on free throws.

Lining up scenario - with respect to rule 9-1-3-G

A1 is shooting a free throw and opponent B1 occupies the appropriate marked space closest to the basket.

Situation 1) B1 lines up at a 90 degree angle to the lane - in such a way that her backside (derriere) is pointing toward A2 (who occupies the adjoining marked space). B1's feet are on the floor and within the vertical planes of the marked space but her derriere is clearly extended into the adjoining space.

At this point, I don't think that B1 is committing any violation as there is no contact with A2 (so no need for any action on my part). But the plot thickens....

Situation 2) B1 does lines up the same way as described in Situation 1 except she lines up on the balls of her feet. B1's heels are off the ground and extend outside the plane of the marked space. There is no contact with an opponent.

By the rule, it appears that I should call this a violation and award a replacement free throw if the free throw try is unsuccessful. To me, this seems trifling but it may prevent future problems....

Situation 3) A2 now returns the favor and lines up at a 90 degree angle to the lane - in such a way that her derriere is touching B1's. Obviously, there is contact....

The common sense approach would seem to be just a quick word to the players to stay in their area and if they did not do so, call the appropriate violations as needed.

Thoughts please?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 11:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
1 and 2, you're right. 1 is not a violation. 2 is, by rule, but it's never called. Reason? Who knows, probably because it really doesn't give her an advantage. Check with experienced refs in your area.

3. No violation here, either. Nothing says their a$$es need to stay within any vertical plane; and contact has nothing to do with a violation. There's no foul unless one player pushes the other with her rump.

You can ask them to stop, but there really isn't a rule basis for it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 04:39am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
A player could just line up properly, then change their position to match your description once the ball is released. I doubt that the T or L (or C) can properly observe this violation.

I wouldn't be looking for mucous hanging off someone's nose.

Short of an obvious foul.......

Now if they get into a situation like what happened with the switch pitcher/switch hitter situation a few weeks back, then ya gotta do sumthin'.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,241
Situation 3) Go to the girls and say, "Yep, your's is bigger." (Don't specify whose).

They will laugh, then stop.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 11:49am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
I always make sure their aura is within the lines, too.

__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 11:52am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Mark, you shouldn't be looking at their auras.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 02:47pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,759
Hey, this is North America, speak English not French: Do no use derriere; use tuchus.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Mark, you shouldn't be looking at their auras.
Why not? They're pretty decent cars.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 07:56pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,410
Switch Pitcher / Switch Hitter ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Now if they get into a situation like what happened with the switch pitcher/switch hitter situation a few weeks back, then ya gotta do sumthin'.
Are you referring to the situation involving farm teams of the Yankees and Mets, I believe in Brooklyn and Staten Island, New York, in which a switch pitcher and a switch hitter got into a back and forth duel? Some of my colleagues at work were discussing this. For those of you who umpire baseball, how was this handled? Who has to commit first, the pitcher, or the batter, and who is allowed to make a final adjustment?

And you are allowed to treat me as a fanboy for these questions, since it's now an official word in the dictionary.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 08:42pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,643
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
A bit long, but if you haven't see the incident for yourself here it is....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkPbJV2dffI
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 16, 2008, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Are you referring to the situation involving farm teams of the Yankees and Mets, I believe in Brooklyn and Staten Island, New York, in which a switch pitcher and a switch hitter got into a back and forth duel? Some of my colleagues at work were discussing this. For those of you who umpire baseball, how was this handled? Who has to commit first, the pitcher, or the batter, and who is allowed to make a final adjustment?

And you are allowed to treat me as a fanboy for these questions, since it's now an official word in the dictionary.
Baseball (although I forget exactly who) has decided that the pitcher need declare first.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Throw in questions! jritchie Basketball 9 Thu Jan 18, 2007 08:59am
Free Kick - First Touching Questions SC Ump Football 2 Sun Oct 29, 2006 10:46am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
2 Free Throw Questions Rick Durkee Basketball 8 Fri Nov 12, 2004 03:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1