The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 30, 2008, 05:07pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,524
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...

The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin, the defender’s team will receive a team warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team warning will be recorded. If the defender fouls the inbounding player after breaking the imaginary plane, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team warning will be recorded.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 30, 2008, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 278
I am a football official who coaches basketball. In a recent AAU tournament there was limited room for a throw in from near the scorer's table. The defender was lined up by the official to be approximately 3 feet back and was told not to move closer nor to break the plane. However, the offensive player was allowed to run through that area between the defender and the sideline to receive the pass. That didn't seem fair. How should this be treated?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 30, 2008, 09:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66
I am a football official who coaches basketball. In a recent AAU tournament there was limited room for a throw in from near the scorer's table. The defender was lined up by the official to be approximately 3 feet back and was told not to move closer nor to break the plane. However, the offensive player was allowed to run through that area between the defender and the sideline to receive the pass. That didn't seem fair. How should this be treated?
It was handled correctly. If an offensive player enters that space a defender may do so as well.

7.6.4 SITUATION D: The sideline is very near the spectators leaving little space out of bounds for A1 to make a throw-in. As a result, the administering official has directed B1 to move back a step to give the thrower some room: (a) as soon as the ball is handed or bounced to A1, B1 moves right back to the boundary line in front of A1; or (b) A1 attempts to complete the throw-in just inside the boundary line and B1 moves to his/her original position in order to defend. RULING: In (a), it is a violation by B1 and will also result in a warning for Team B which is reported to the scorer and to the head coach. Any subsequent delay-of-game situation or noncompliance with the verbal order will result in a technical foul charged to Team B. In (b), B1 is expected to stay back one step unless the throw-in is attempted between this area and the boundary line. No violation in this case as B1 is allowed to defend the area if the throw-in is attempted there. (10-1-10)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 07:15am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I've always treated the restraining line as a defacto boundary line, and have called an offensive throwin violation when A2 crosses it.

AAU? I'll move them off the scorer's table for the throwin, too.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I've always treated the restraining line as a defacto boundary line, and have called an offensive throwin violation when A2 crosses it.

AAU? I'll move them off the scorer's table for the throwin, too.
This whole situation has never been precisely clear to me. It seems that there is a difference between the imposition of an imaginary line by the administering official and a physical restraining line painted on the court.

In the first case, the case book play clearly says that the inbounds space between the imaginary line and the OOB line can be legally used. In the second case the 1-2-2 along with reference to 7-6-4 make the case that this area is off limits until the ball has crossed over the restraining line.

So my question is should the two cases really be treated differently in practice?

Last edited by Nevadaref; Tue Jul 01, 2008 at 01:52pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 11:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
This whole situation has never been precisely clear to me. It seems that there is a difference between the imposition of an imaginary line by the administering official and a physical restraining line painted on the court.

In the first case, the case book play clearly says that the inbounds space between the imaginary line and the OOB line can be legally used. In the second case the 1-2-2 along with reference to 7-6-4 make the case that this area is off limits until the ball has crossed over the restraining line.

So my question is should the two cases really be treated differently in practice?
Well, I was conflating the two, it seems. The violations I've called have all involved the actual painted restraining line. I can see the distinction, though, in that the painted line should be easier for everyone to adhere to.

I just noticed that the case play does not reference a rule that grants the authority used in the case play. Is there one, or is the one of those instances where the rules have been amended via a case play?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 07:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It was handled correctly. If an offensive player enters that space a defender may do so as well.

[/COLOR][/B](10-1-10)
Unfortunately we were unaware that the defender may enter that area if the offensive player does. They basically used our defender on the throw-in as a screen.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 08:08am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
... If the defender fouls the inbounding player after breaking the imaginary plane, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team warning will be recorded.
What if the team has already received a delay of game warning. Will they be assessed an intentional foul and technical foul in this situation?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
What if the team has already received a delay of game warning. Will they be assessed an intentional foul and technical foul in this situation?
Think of the play in "slow motion" - what happened first? Since the player had to break the plane in order to make contact, the T should be called for breaking the plane, and the ball becomes dead. Then the contact should be ignored, unless you see it as excessive or flagrant.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 08:51am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Think of the play in "slow motion" - what happened first? Since the player had to break the plane in order to make contact, the T should be called for breaking the plane, and the ball becomes dead. Then the contact should be ignored, unless you see it as excessive or flagrant.
That was my thinking initially. But if we say that then wouldn't the same apply if this were the first infraction? Also, if we give B1 tech for breaking the plane that's a harsher penalty then he/she would get for actually making contact with A1, which would only be an intentional foul.

I think what we have here is a conundrum.

My point being: Though very unlikely that a player would have this much forethought, but if he/she realizes the he/she has broken the plane after their team has already received a DOG warning then he/she would better served to actually make contact with the inbounder and avoid the 'T'.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Jul 01, 2008 at 08:59am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
That was my thinking also. But if we say that then wouldn't the same apply if this were the first infraction?
Well, I know in NCAA-W, you would penalize the intentional foul, and that infraction would also count as the first warning. I would think the same logic could be applied to NF as well.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
That was my thinking initially. But if we say that then wouldn't the same apply if this were the first infraction? Also, if we give B1 tech for breaking the plane that's a harsher penalty then he/she would get for actually making contact with A1, which would only be an intentional foul.

I think what we have here is a conundrum.

My point being: Though very unlikely that a player would have this much forethought, but if he/she realizes the he/she has broken the plane after their team has already received a DOG warning then he/she would better served to actually make contact with the inbounder and avoid the 'T'.
How is the T a "harsher" penalty?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 09:13am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
How is the T a "harsher" penalty?
My bad...I was thinking the 'T' is charged directly to the player, but it's a Team Technical in HS and Administrative in NCAA. Someone earlier in the thread stated the 'T' is charged to the individual for contacting the ball and that was still sticking in my head.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Jul 01, 2008 at 09:16am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 11:15am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Think of the play in "slow motion" - what happened first? Since the player had to break the plane in order to make contact, the T should be called for breaking the plane, and the ball becomes dead. Then the contact should be ignored, unless you see it as excessive or flagrant.
Think of it this way....that's completely wrong.

You penalize it as per rule9-2PENALTIES(ART10)4. It's an intentional personal foul only.

Somewhere there's a FED ruling that was issued on that exact play.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Jul 01, 2008 at 11:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Think of it this way....that's completely wrong.

You penalize it as per rule9-2PENALTIES(ART10)4. It's an intentional personal foul only.

Somewhere there's a FED ruling that was issued on that exact play.
Even after the first warning has already been recorded?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical on defense during Throw in? jritchie Basketball 1 Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:53pm
More Reaching across throw-in boundry line mlancast Basketball 4 Mon Mar 04, 2002 03:17pm
Reaching across throw-in boundry line APHP Basketball 7 Sat Mar 02, 2002 08:16pm
Throw-in plane PP Basketball 8 Sun Feb 10, 2002 03:42pm
Stepping/reaching out of bounds during a throw-in Lotto Basketball 3 Thu Jan 18, 2001 01:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1