The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 09, 2002, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
I disagree with Tony.

Once the player leaves the ground (more accurately, raises his / her pivot foot), the only thing the player can do is shoot or pass. Since the player did neither, it's a violation.

2000-2001 supplemental interps, situation 1.
Bob, the play stated that "...he jumps again..." How could he possibly jump again without returning to the floor? Unless he intentionally tosses the ball to himself, don't we have either a shot or a fumble? How can we have traveling if the ball was shot or fumbled?

Yes, if he jumps with the ball and returns to the ground with the ball, he's traveled, unless, of course, we have a held ball while airborne. But that's a whole 'nother thread, eh?

BTW, what does the interpretation that you cited say? I no longer have access to it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1