View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 10, 2002, 06:15pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Okay, that's cool.
My interp of the play is that he took a very bad shot!

However, nowhere else in 4-43 is the word "fumble" used yet we still allow a player to retrieve one without calling traveling. How is it different?

I think the possible difference in the case play is that the player "allowed" the ball to fall to the floor. It's no different than lifting the pivot before starting a dribble.

Anyway, food for thought. I think the rulebook could be clearer on fumbles, airborne players, contact on the ball by the defender and traveling.
Reply With Quote