Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
BTW, what does the interpretation that you cited say? I no longer have access to it.
|
2000-2001 Basketball Interpretations Supplement #1 (11/9/00)
Situation 1: A1 is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, A1 fumbles the ball (while still in the air) and drops it. A1 then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the ball must be released for a try or pass (4-43-3a; 9-4)
I think that's sufficiently close to the play presented in this thread to apply.
Note that 4-43-3a states "released on a pass or try for goal" -- it doesn't say "or is fumbled."