The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 91
Interesting situation in a summer league game

This happened Monday night:

End of the game, 10 seconds left, Team A is winning by two points.

Team A is in-bounding after a Team B made basket. Team A attempts the double pass play. As A1 attempts to throw the ball to A2 OOB on the baseline the pass hits R1 in the side of the head. The ball then rolls onto the court where A3 touches it. B1 then grabs the loose ball and scores a layup to tie the game.


R1 is dazed and U1 takes an official's timeout. During the timeout team A coach is livid and says that the play should have been blown dead by U1 when the ball hit R1 and then rolled onto the court.

R1 and U1 decide that the play stands, Team A goes on to win in overtime
__________________
"Earl Strom is a throwback, a reminder of the days when the refs had colorful personalities, the days when war-horses like Mendy Rudolph, Norm Drucker, and a younger Earl Strom were called the father, the son, and the holy ghost.—Roy Firestone, sports commentator
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 09:32am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajun Reff
...During the timeout team A coach is livid and says that the play should have been blown dead by U1 when the ball hit R1 and then rolled onto the court...
Yeah, and award the ball to Team B b/c A1 failed to pass the ball directly into the playing court....
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Yeah, and award the ball to Team B b/c A1 failed to pass the ball directly into the playing court....
I am the assignor for this summer league and R1 is an experienced official, U1 is a rookie that just completed his first year. The way the gym they were in is set up, there is a marginal area between the baseline and the wall, so when R1 initiated play he bounced it to A1, started his count and then started to back away and A2 (who was behind him) left the court and went beyond the boundary. R1 told me that A1 then turned and fired the ball right at him and he didnt have time to move, but even if he did have time to move he literally had no where to go. The ball hit him in the side of the head and then rolled onto the court. R1 was woozy, U1 didnt have a clue what to do and R1 said he let it stand because A3 touched the ball on the court before B1 gained possession.

It was a learning experience for everyone involved.
__________________
"Earl Strom is a throwback, a reminder of the days when the refs had colorful personalities, the days when war-horses like Mendy Rudolph, Norm Drucker, and a younger Earl Strom were called the father, the son, and the holy ghost.—Roy Firestone, sports commentator
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 11:41am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
Couple of questions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajun Reff
so when R1 initiated play he bounced it to A1, started his count and then started to back away
Why did R1 have the ball? Coming out of a time out?
R1 was properly positioned?
And R1 was OOB?

Please clarify, because I'm having a hard time figuring out the logistics.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajun Reff
... and A2 (who was behind him) left the court and went beyond the boundary. R1 told me that A1 then turned and fired the ball right at him and he didnt have time to move, but even if he did have time to move he literally had no where to go. The ball hit him in the side of the head and then rolled onto the court. R1 was woozy, U1 didnt have a clue what to do and R1 said he let it stand because A3 touched the ball on the court before B1 gained possession.

It was a learning experience for everyone involved.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 12:08pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Yes, U1 shoulda blown the play dead. Being new and clueless, he didn't. Yes, the R should have reset the throw-in. He didn't either.

As Rocky said, the officials should learn from it and the coach just has to deal with it.

Juggler, that's exactly what I'd tell a coach if a complaint was put in. The standard response is "sh!t happens".
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 12:26pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yes, U1 shoulda blown the play dead. Being new and clueless, he didn't. Yes, the R should have reset the throw-in. He didn't either.

As Rocky said, the officials should learn from it and the coach just has to deal with it.

Juggler, that's exactly what I'd tell a coach if a complaint was put in. The standard response is "sh!t happens".
And do your local coaches really accept that response?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 32
[QUOTE=Jurassic Referee]Yes, U1 shoulda blown the play dead. Being new and clueless, he didn't. Yes, the R should have reset the throw-in. He didn't either.QUOTE]

if you "reset" the play does it now become a spot throw in?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99
Why did R1 have the ball? Coming out of a time out?
R1 was properly positioned?
And R1 was OOB?

Please clarify, because I'm having a hard time figuring out the logistics.
yes, Team A had called timeout after the made basket to set up the double pass play

R1 bounced A1 the ball, A1 ran a few steps to his right, R1 had backed away from A1 for his count. A2 ran OOB behind R1, A1 turned and fired the ball back to the middle of the court OOB to A2 but R1 was standing right in the line of fire and got hit

For their 2 man mechanics R1 was in the proper place, albeit it at the wrong time. In a larger gym he would have had more room to back away from the end line but the wall was right there.
__________________
"Earl Strom is a throwback, a reminder of the days when the refs had colorful personalities, the days when war-horses like Mendy Rudolph, Norm Drucker, and a younger Earl Strom were called the father, the son, and the holy ghost.—Roy Firestone, sports commentator
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
So for my learning purposes....

We are saying that it was not a legal throw in...I have in my mind that the ref is part of the playing surface in bounds or out...so if he was OOB and the ball hit him, we have a change of posession...No?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 09:44am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajun Reff
This happened Monday night:

End of the game, 10 seconds left, Team A is winning by two points.

Team A is in-bounding after a Team B made basket. Team A attempts the double pass play. As A1 attempts to throw the ball to A2 OOB on the baseline the pass hits R1 in the side of the head. The ball then rolls onto the court where A3 touches it. B1 then grabs the loose ball and scores a layup to tie the game.


R1 is dazed and U1 takes an official's timeout. During the timeout team A coach is livid and says that the play should have been blown dead by U1 when the ball hit R1 and then rolled onto the court.

R1 and U1 decide that the play stands, Team A goes on to win in overtime
So A1 legally is permitted to pass to his/her OOB teammate in this situation. The official needs to get out of the way. It sounds as though A would have likely won the game, and luckily they did anyways. I think the R1 needs to learn a lot from this play. After all, I'm guessing that he doesn't interfere with players dribbling, shooting, calling timeouts, setting screens, playing defense, blocking shots, or switching when screens are set, or passing amongst teammates when inbounds. If I were the coach, the refs association would hear about this one.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 10:18am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
So A1 legally is permitted to pass to his/her OOB teammate in this situation. The official needs to get out of the way. It sounds as though A would have likely won the game, and luckily they did anyways. I think the R1 needs to learn a lot from this play. After all, I'm guessing that he doesn't interfere with players dribbling, shooting, calling timeouts, setting screens, playing defense, blocking shots, or switching when screens are set, or passing amongst teammates when inbounds. If I were the coach, the refs association would hear about this one.
Of course A1 can pass it to a teammate, but why come down so hard on the ref?? Should he learn from it - of course. But for all we know, A1 was on the opposite side of the key from R1 and A2 ran OOB on the other side of R1 where R1 couldn't see him, and then A1 made a stupidly bad pass. That sure isn't R1's fault...the officials are part of the court and we occasionally end up in the wrong spot and get in the way. It happens. Coach should be more worried about A1 throwing a pass when someone was in the way than in calling the refs association!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 27, 2008, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
What if the

ball hit off of R1 and landed out of bounds bofore it rolled onto the court?? Would that be an inbounds violation?? Same as touching out of bounds first when rollling it in??
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 27, 2008, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidMadness
ball hit off of R1 and landed out of bounds bofore it rolled onto the court?? Would that be an inbounds violation?? Same as touching out of bounds first when rollling it in??
Yep....hitting R1 and the floor are equivalent...so this one bounced OOB twice then rolled in. No different than than hitting only the R or the floor alone then bouncing/rolling inbounds.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I know it's summer league, but... jsblanton Basketball 63 Mon Jun 16, 2008 03:44pm
Interesting Situation After game. Jerry Blum Basketball 16 Mon Dec 13, 2004 04:26pm
First Summer League Game.... (Sigh) ace Basketball 22 Sun Jul 13, 2003 01:34am
two interesting summer league things A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 22 Tue Jul 16, 2002 09:21am
Interesting situation in Varsity game last night. Jerry Blum Basketball 5 Wed Feb 06, 2002 07:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1