View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 09:44am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajun Reff
This happened Monday night:

End of the game, 10 seconds left, Team A is winning by two points.

Team A is in-bounding after a Team B made basket. Team A attempts the double pass play. As A1 attempts to throw the ball to A2 OOB on the baseline the pass hits R1 in the side of the head. The ball then rolls onto the court where A3 touches it. B1 then grabs the loose ball and scores a layup to tie the game.


R1 is dazed and U1 takes an official's timeout. During the timeout team A coach is livid and says that the play should have been blown dead by U1 when the ball hit R1 and then rolled onto the court.

R1 and U1 decide that the play stands, Team A goes on to win in overtime
So A1 legally is permitted to pass to his/her OOB teammate in this situation. The official needs to get out of the way. It sounds as though A would have likely won the game, and luckily they did anyways. I think the R1 needs to learn a lot from this play. After all, I'm guessing that he doesn't interfere with players dribbling, shooting, calling timeouts, setting screens, playing defense, blocking shots, or switching when screens are set, or passing amongst teammates when inbounds. If I were the coach, the refs association would hear about this one.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote