The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Yeah, and award the ball to Team B b/c A1 failed to pass the ball directly into the playing court....
I am the assignor for this summer league and R1 is an experienced official, U1 is a rookie that just completed his first year. The way the gym they were in is set up, there is a marginal area between the baseline and the wall, so when R1 initiated play he bounced it to A1, started his count and then started to back away and A2 (who was behind him) left the court and went beyond the boundary. R1 told me that A1 then turned and fired the ball right at him and he didnt have time to move, but even if he did have time to move he literally had no where to go. The ball hit him in the side of the head and then rolled onto the court. R1 was woozy, U1 didnt have a clue what to do and R1 said he let it stand because A3 touched the ball on the court before B1 gained possession.

It was a learning experience for everyone involved.
__________________
"Earl Strom is a throwback, a reminder of the days when the refs had colorful personalities, the days when war-horses like Mendy Rudolph, Norm Drucker, and a younger Earl Strom were called the father, the son, and the holy ghost.—Roy Firestone, sports commentator
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 11:41am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
Couple of questions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajun Reff
so when R1 initiated play he bounced it to A1, started his count and then started to back away
Why did R1 have the ball? Coming out of a time out?
R1 was properly positioned?
And R1 was OOB?

Please clarify, because I'm having a hard time figuring out the logistics.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajun Reff
... and A2 (who was behind him) left the court and went beyond the boundary. R1 told me that A1 then turned and fired the ball right at him and he didnt have time to move, but even if he did have time to move he literally had no where to go. The ball hit him in the side of the head and then rolled onto the court. R1 was woozy, U1 didnt have a clue what to do and R1 said he let it stand because A3 touched the ball on the court before B1 gained possession.

It was a learning experience for everyone involved.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 12:08pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Yes, U1 shoulda blown the play dead. Being new and clueless, he didn't. Yes, the R should have reset the throw-in. He didn't either.

As Rocky said, the officials should learn from it and the coach just has to deal with it.

Juggler, that's exactly what I'd tell a coach if a complaint was put in. The standard response is "sh!t happens".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 12:26pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yes, U1 shoulda blown the play dead. Being new and clueless, he didn't. Yes, the R should have reset the throw-in. He didn't either.

As Rocky said, the officials should learn from it and the coach just has to deal with it.

Juggler, that's exactly what I'd tell a coach if a complaint was put in. The standard response is "sh!t happens".
And do your local coaches really accept that response?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 12:39pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
And do your local coaches really accept that response?
Um, of course they do. What else could they possibly have to say after you admit that, yes, the officials could have handled that play differently?

If the official was right, you back them 100%. If they screwed up, admit it.

Officials are human. They make mistakes. The good ones learn from it and don't repeat those mistakes. Coaches will accept that if you're honest and straight-forward with them. It works both ways too. They also have to accept it when you tell them that their behavior isn't acceptable either. And a coach going postal after an official makes a wrong call is never acceptable--anywhere.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Jun 25, 2008 at 12:42pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 01:46pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um, of course they do. What else could they possibly have to say after you admit that, yes, the officials could have handled that play differently?

If the official was right, you back them 100%. If they screwed up, admit it.

Officials are human. They make mistakes. The good ones learn from it and don't repeat those mistakes. Coaches will accept that if you're honest and straight-forward with them. It works both ways too. They also have to accept it when you tell them that their behavior isn't acceptable either. And a coach going postal after an official makes a wrong call is never acceptable--anywhere.
Ok, that is fine. But it did seem that this answer is different than "[it] happens".
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 32
[QUOTE=Jurassic Referee]Yes, U1 shoulda blown the play dead. Being new and clueless, he didn't. Yes, the R should have reset the throw-in. He didn't either.QUOTE]

if you "reset" the play does it now become a spot throw in?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 01:20pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
[QUOTE=love2refbball]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yes, U1 shoulda blown the play dead. Being new and clueless, he didn't. Yes, the R should have reset the throw-in. He didn't either.QUOTE]

if you "reset" the play does it now become a spot throw in?
No. Just repeat the original throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99
Why did R1 have the ball? Coming out of a time out?
R1 was properly positioned?
And R1 was OOB?

Please clarify, because I'm having a hard time figuring out the logistics.
yes, Team A had called timeout after the made basket to set up the double pass play

R1 bounced A1 the ball, A1 ran a few steps to his right, R1 had backed away from A1 for his count. A2 ran OOB behind R1, A1 turned and fired the ball back to the middle of the court OOB to A2 but R1 was standing right in the line of fire and got hit

For their 2 man mechanics R1 was in the proper place, albeit it at the wrong time. In a larger gym he would have had more room to back away from the end line but the wall was right there.
__________________
"Earl Strom is a throwback, a reminder of the days when the refs had colorful personalities, the days when war-horses like Mendy Rudolph, Norm Drucker, and a younger Earl Strom were called the father, the son, and the holy ghost.—Roy Firestone, sports commentator
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
So for my learning purposes....

We are saying that it was not a legal throw in...I have in my mind that the ref is part of the playing surface in bounds or out...so if he was OOB and the ball hit him, we have a change of posession...No?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
So for my learning purposes....

We are saying that it was not a legal throw in...I have in my mind that the ref is part of the playing surface in bounds or out...so if he was OOB and the ball hit him, we have a change of posession...No?
The ball hitting a referee is the same as the ball hitting the floor in the location the referee is standing.

So (rhetorical question alert), what's the ruling if inbounder A1 releases the ball such that it hits the court out-of-bounds and goes onto the court?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 01:14pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
So for my learning purposes....

We are saying that it was not a legal throw in...I have in my mind that the ref is part of the playing surface in bounds or out...so if he was OOB and the ball hit him, we have a change of posession...No?
It wasn't a throw-in imo, by rules definition. A throw-in occurs when the ball is passed directly into the court. What happened on this play was an official being struck by an OOB pass.

You can probably make a case for either of two scenarios:
1) Call it a throw-in, and the whole play stands if the ball didn't bounce OOB .....which means that the team A coach goes nuts.
2) Call it a pass with inadvertent interference by the R and reset the throw-in....which means that the team B coach goes nuts.

No matter what, the officials have got someone mad at 'em....even though they're the victim of a gym with a small OOB area.

A reset seems like the logical and fair solution to me. Of course, that's jmo. Others may disagree.

I have no idea either how the officials can really avoid having a play like this happen, under the circumstances described. I'll have to leave that explanation up to Juggler.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I have no idea either how the officials can really avoid having a play like this happen, under the circumstances described. I'll have to leave that explanation up to Juggler.
How about don't bounce the ball across the FT lane even in the back court?
I know that the NCAAW do it, but that the NCAAM do not.
In this case, perhaps the game was two-man, but I still would have gone over to the side of the basket where the thrower wanted to start. This would have made it much more unlikely that another player would step OOB behind me as I moved out of the way towards the corner.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 07:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
How about don't bounce the ball across the FT lane even in the back court?
I know that the NCAAW do it, but that the NCAAM do not.
In this case, perhaps the game was two-man, but I still would have gone over to the side of the basket where the thrower wanted to start. This would have made it much more unlikely that another player would step OOB behind me as I moved out of the way towards the corner.
Unless that player was stepping OOB in the corner you started on....

A1 receives the ball from the R on the left of the key at the lane line extended...takes 1 -3 steps to the right while A2 cuts to the corner on the side where the A1 started when A1 turns and throws the ball to A2.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
So for my learning purposes....

We are saying that it was not a legal throw in...I have in my mind that the ref is part of the playing surface in bounds or out...so if he was OOB and the ball hit him, we have a change of posession...No?
Almost (if you want it by the book)...

When the ball hit the R, it was not dead immediately: that was no different than if A1 was executing a bounce pass along the endline to A2 (referee is part of the court at the location of the referee). If after hitting the R, the ball remained on the OOB side of the line...A1, A2 or any other A player (who was OOB along the throwin boundary) could grab the ball and complete the throwin. However, the ball didn't remain OOB, it deflected inbounds. At that point, it became a throwin violation for not throwing it directly onto the court (it hit OOB...the ref...before going inbounds). The ball was dead when it bounced inbounds. The clock should have never started and B1's basket was with a dead ball. B's ball OOB nearest the violation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I know it's summer league, but... jsblanton Basketball 63 Mon Jun 16, 2008 03:44pm
Interesting Situation After game. Jerry Blum Basketball 16 Mon Dec 13, 2004 04:26pm
First Summer League Game.... (Sigh) ace Basketball 22 Sun Jul 13, 2003 01:34am
two interesting summer league things A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 22 Tue Jul 16, 2002 09:21am
Interesting situation in Varsity game last night. Jerry Blum Basketball 5 Wed Feb 06, 2002 07:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1