The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 01:45pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
A2 shoots the ball, it passes through rim but not out of the net as A5 grabs the rim. What is the correct ruling?

Its too early in the morning for a quesion like this, , but I will give my rules interpretation, both NFHS and NCAA (I don't feel like climbing up in the attic to check my FIBA book for a FIBA ruling):

When A5 touched the rim he committed offensive basket interference. A5's violation caused the ball to become dead and no points are scored for A2 and Team A. A5 then proceeded to grab the rim. Unless he was grabbing the rim to protect himself from landing on another player, I have a technical foul by A5 for grabbing the rim. You really can't have one without the other.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Mon Jun 02, 2008 at 01:47pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1