The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 01:26pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
BI or T

A2 shoots the ball, it passes through rim but not out of the net as A5 grabs the rim. What is the correct ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 01:40pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
A2 shoots the ball, it passes through rim but not out of the net as A5 grabs the rim. What is the correct ruling?
Offensive BI, no basket. Call a "T" on A5 only IF if he didn't grab the ring to avoid injury.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 01:45pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
A2 shoots the ball, it passes through rim but not out of the net as A5 grabs the rim. What is the correct ruling?

Its too early in the morning for a quesion like this, , but I will give my rules interpretation, both NFHS and NCAA (I don't feel like climbing up in the attic to check my FIBA book for a FIBA ruling):

When A5 touched the rim he committed offensive basket interference. A5's violation caused the ball to become dead and no points are scored for A2 and Team A. A5 then proceeded to grab the rim. Unless he was grabbing the rim to protect himself from landing on another player, I have a technical foul by A5 for grabbing the rim. You really can't have one without the other.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Mon Jun 02, 2008 at 01:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 01:46pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Offensive BI, no basket. Call a "T" on A5 only IF if he didn't grab the ring to avoid injury.
JR:

Dang, I was still writing while you were hitting the submit button, .

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 01:53pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Really? Looks like I missed yet another one
A5 just jumped up and grabbed the rim for some odd reason (YMCA HS league). The ball was clearly going through! Hadn't seen that one before.

I went with BI and a player (who claims to have had "reffed") asked in passing "shouldn't that be a T"?
I went with selective hearing & didn't respond (live ball - I had a job to do)
Guess I'll have to man up & let him know he was absolutely correct
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 03:02pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
Really? Looks like I missed yet another one
NFHS case book play 10.3.4SitB(a).

Look at it this way. You won't miss it again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 03:17pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
No sir, not twice! It probably won't happen again for a while but when it does...
Thanks again, JR.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 05:53pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,804
10.3.4 Situation B

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
NFHS case book play 10.3.4SitB(a).
10.3.4 Situation B: A1 jumps for a try near the basket but loses his/her balance after releasing the ball. A1 grasps the basket to prevent injury. The ball: (a) is; or (b) is not, in the basket or on the ring while A1 is hanging on the ring.

Ruling: In (a), it is basket interference by A1 which causes the ball to become dead and no goal can be scored. In (b), there is no violation unless A1 is still hanging on the ring when the ball touches the basket or goes into the basket. In both (a) and (b), A1ís grasping is not penalized if it is judged there was a possibility of injury had he/she not grasped the basket. (9-1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1