The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 02, 2008, 09:59am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace
I've found myself in this position before - Live ball hits you in the chest while you're standing ON the end line and instead of bouncing off you rolls down your body back to the floor.

A's coach calls a timeout to ream his players for not realizing that the referee is part of the court, unless he's out of bounds.
Uh-oh......

If you're standing ON the end line, you are OOB. The referee is part of the court when he's OOB too, ace. The ball is dead as soon as it touched you, and a violation has to be called against the team that last touched the ball on the court.

NFHS rule 7-1-2-2.

The confusion on this play is when the ball touches something OOB versus a player with the ball touching a person OOB. It's a violation when the ball touches a person OOB. It's not a violation when a player holding or dribbling the ball touches a person OOB with his body(R7-1-1).

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Fri May 02, 2008 at 10:05am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was a force play, became a tag play ? _Bruno_ Baseball 8 Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am
Play-by-Play Commentary FC IC Basketball 2 Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1