The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Question raised in another thread:

What if the administrating official on a throw in tells the player he can run the end line when in fact it is a spot throw in. After putting the ball at the throwers disposal, he runs the end line, another official from 20 ft away calls the violation. What now?

Good question. I have an opinion, but I'll save it until I hear others.
This is not a correctable error. It's an officials mistake. There is no rule provision that I know of that allows you to go back and rectify an official's mistake. 9-2-1 is the penalty.

Last edited by Indianaref; Sun Apr 06, 2008 at 01:14pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spot Throw-in rhhudson Basketball 23 Tue Feb 05, 2008 06:42pm
Throw-in spot buckrog64 Basketball 3 Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:45am
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw in Spot Mregor Basketball 7 Mon Feb 24, 2003 08:39pm
Throw-in spot Mlancaster Basketball 8 Mon Jan 15, 2001 07:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1