The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Question raised in another thread:

What if the administrating official on a throw in tells the player he can run the end line when in fact it is a spot throw in. After putting the ball at the throwers disposal, he runs the end line, another official from 20 ft away calls the violation. What now?

Good question. I have an opinion, but I'll save it until I hear others.
This is not a correctable error. It's an officials mistake. There is no rule provision that I know of that allows you to go back and rectify an official's mistake. 9-2-1 is the penalty.

Last edited by Indianaref; Sun Apr 06, 2008 at 01:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 02:26pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
4-42-6: The throw-in spot is..............established by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower's disposal.


The official in this case did not designate a spot, but rather told the player he could run the end line. If there is no designated spot, there can be no violation. The administrating official gives this information to his nitwit partner, who hopefully will change his call. Either way, the partner deserves to be dragged down the top of the levee behind a Ford Courier for making this call.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 02:43pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Good Point, Nice Try ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
4-42-6: The throw-in spot is..............established by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower's disposal.
Good point. I think that, what you're trying to say, is that once the official establishes the spot, let's say a "run the endline" spot, even if it's after a three second violation, it is no longer a mistake if the throwin player runs the endline.

However, I still think that in the original post, once the nonadministering official, using, in my opinion, poor mechanics, calls the violation, it's a violation, and the other team will get the ball.

Nice try. You almost won me over to your side.

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Apr 06, 2008 at 03:01pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
4-42-6: The throw-in spot is..............established by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower's disposal.


The official in this case did not designate a spot, but rather told the player he could run the end line. If there is no designated spot, there can be no violation. The administrating official gives this information to his nitwit partner, who hopefully will change his call. Either way, the partner deserves to be dragged down the top of the levee behind a Ford Courier for making this call.
4-42-6 This is a good augment/opinion, in the end I believe righteous. Another stitch: What if, after a timeout, the administrating official neglects to instruct the thrower, then he/she proceeds to run the end line, would you call the violation? What if your knuckle headed partner runs over to call it from 50ft away to call it?
I think you would have to.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 04:53pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
4-42-6 This is a good augment/opinion, in the end I believe righteous. Another stitch: What if, after a timeout, the administrating official neglects to instruct the thrower, then he/she proceeds to run the end line, would you call the violation? What if your knuckle headed partner runs over to call it from 50ft away to call it?
I think you would have to.
I can quote nothing which backs this up, but I think it is ultimately the responsibility of the thrower to know whether it is a spot throw-in or not. If it is a spot throw-in, the official gives no instructions, and the thrower moves, you call the violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 09:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
My partner had an inadvertant whistle...POI, which by the way I meant to say was a designated spot...I hate it when my partner does that...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Award 2 shots and the ball at the division line.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Award 2 shots and the ball at the division line.
T on the calling official? Or the one who provided erroneous information? Does any member of the crew get to take the free throws? Who administers the free throws?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 07, 2008, 05:36am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reffing Rev.
My partner had an inadvertant whistle...POI, which by the way I meant to say was a designated spot...I hate it when my partner does that...
Classic.

I've got no problem with my P blowing his whistle to alert me of something, so long as no time has come off the clock. The team that is entitled to the ball by rule, not by officials error, should get the ball, and for the proper type of throw-in as well.

I believe in getting it right. The mechanics are guidelines only. Sure, in some cases not following the mechs will get us in trouble, but this is not one of those cases.

In addition, ChrisSportRef's mention of the swipe for the Ps and camera is 100% correct.
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Mon Apr 07, 2008 at 05:39am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spot Throw-in rhhudson Basketball 23 Tue Feb 05, 2008 06:42pm
Throw-in spot buckrog64 Basketball 3 Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:45am
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw in Spot Mregor Basketball 7 Mon Feb 24, 2003 08:39pm
Throw-in spot Mlancaster Basketball 8 Mon Jan 15, 2001 07:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1