The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 02:37am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
The official has to step up....

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Question raised in another thread:

What if the administrating official on a throw in tells the player he can run the end line when in fact it is a spot throw in. After putting the ball at the throwers disposal, he runs the end line, another official from 20 ft away calls the violation. What now?

Good question. I have an opinion, but I'll save it until I hear others.
and take the blame here. Stop play, it already has, correct the sitch.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 10:30am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Concur. Ref provided bad info. Meet, discuss. Award the ball to the team again with a spot throw in. Shouldn't penalize the team.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 10:57am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
NFHS Do-Overs ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
Ref provided bad info. Meet, discuss. Award the ball to the team again with a spot throw in. Shouldn't penalize the team.
"Ref provided bad info": Absolutely true.

"Meet, discuss": Proper mechanics tell us that the nonadministering official shouldn't be making this call, but he, or she, did, so let's move forward.

"Award the ball to the team again with a spot throw in": I'm going to need a rule book, or case book, citation for this part of the post. Throwin player violated by moving away from the designated spot on a designated throwin. This is not one of the correctable errors listed. One thing that I have learned from this Forum, is that there are seldom, if ever, do-overs in NFHS basketball.

"Shouldn't penalize the team": We shouldn't, but, by rule, I don't think we have any other choice in this situation.

This could have been avoided by good mechanics. During timeouts, officials on my local board are encouraged to communicate with each other, through the use of signals, the direction of the throwin, the place where the throwin will be administered, and whether it's a designated spot, or the player can run the endline. This would have been a good time for the nonadmisitering official to clear up a preventable mistake with the administering official. As ChrisSportsFan mentioned, after the time out, the administering official is encouraged to signal designated spot, or signal run the endline. If the nonadministering official had observed a mistake in this signal, he, or she, could, I believe, properly, blow the whistle to stop the administration of the throwin, before the ball is handed, or tossed, to the player, and discuss a possible mistake by the administering official with that official.

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Apr 06, 2008 at 11:44am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 11:54am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Use common sense here...

I know this isn't a correctable error, however if we use common sense here you will readminister.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 12:46pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Still No NFHS Do-Overs ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl
I know this isn't a correctable error, however if we use common sense here you will readminister.
I wish the correctable error rule gave us a little more latitude, but it doesn't. Let's say, on a throwin, the administering official hands the ball incorrectly to A1. After A1 inbounds the ball to A-2 who catches the throwin pass, the administering official's partner, or the administering official himself, or herself, decides that a mistake has been made, and that B should have gotten the throwin. The whistle is blown immediately so that no time comes off the clock. I can't find anything in the rulebook, casebook, or any posts on this Forum by any reputable member who is an official, that would allow us to readminister the ball to B for a new throwin. Same thing with a mistake on an alternating possession throwin. How many times have we seen the joke "You'll get two out of the next three" on this Forum.

Many NFHS rules seem to disregard common sense. The Spirit And Intent Of The Rules, Rule 2-3-1, and Rule 2-10, give us some discretion, but, in my opinion, not enough to re-do the throwin in the original post.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spot Throw-in rhhudson Basketball 23 Tue Feb 05, 2008 06:42pm
Throw-in spot buckrog64 Basketball 3 Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:45am
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw in Spot Mregor Basketball 7 Mon Feb 24, 2003 08:39pm
Throw-in spot Mlancaster Basketball 8 Mon Jan 15, 2001 07:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1