The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
I am working an Easter AAU event ... I agree ... the foul was on the jump stop - not the shot. I had a Div. I official tell me continuous motion applies here and I should have awarded the FTs. huh????????
What was the D1 official's role? Parent sitting in the stands? Friend of yours? Coach? Evaluator?

I still don't get how you judged this to be a jump stop if he was fouled in the air. A "jump stop" is defined in the rules as a sequence of actions by the player with the ball - what you thought MIGHT have resulted in a jump stop could have ended with a shot or a pass to the perimeter if the player didn't get fouled. In any event if you judged he started his shooting motion then give FTs, otherwise don't. No biggie.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 11:29am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,495
Double Pump, Continous Motion ???

I had an almost, similar situation in my next to last game this past season. Player jumps to get offensive rebound, lands on the floor after jumping and securing rebound, goes through the usual motion to make the put back shot, is fouled in the act of shooting, foul causes player to bring ball back down, after ball is brought back down, he pushes it up again, and in this case, misses the shot. It almost looked like a double pump motion. Easy call. Fouled in the act of shooting. Missed shot. Two free throws.

The problem was, that the ball almost went in, so I wondered, after the game, in discussing this play with my partner, what I would have done if the ball did go in? Use continuous motion, and count the basket, one free throw? Or, did the "double pump" motion stop the continuous motion, thus, take away the basket, two free throws?

There were clearly, to my eye, two separate shot attempts. Would it make a difference if the shooter was airborne for both of these "two" shots? If airborne has an impact on this, I would have no idea what to call, because as the lead, I was looking at the contact, at head, and above level, and even being deep on the endline, I made no observation as to whether the shooter was airborne the entire time, or not.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 11:34am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
I had an almost, similar situation in my next to last game this past season. Player jumps to get offensive rebound, lands on the floor after jumping and securing rebound, goes through the usual motion to make the put back shot, is fouled in the act of shooting, foul causes player to bring ball back down, after ball is brought back down, he pushes it up again, and in this case, misses the shot. It almost looked like a double pump motion. Easy call. Fouled in the act of shooting. Missed shot. Two free throws.

The problem was, that the ball almost went in, so I wondered, after the game, in discussing this play with my partner, what I would have done if the ball did go in? Use continuous motion, and count the basket, one free throw? Or, did the "double pump" motion stop the continuous motion, thus, take away the basket, two free throws?

There were clearly, to my eye, two separate shot attempts. Would it make a difference if the shooter was airborne for both of these "two" shots? If airborne has an impact on this, I would have no idea what to call, because as the lead, I was looking at the contact, at head, and above level, and even being deep on the endline, I made no observation as to whether the shooter was airborne the entire time, or not.
Count it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
I had an almost, similar situation in my next to last game this past season. Player jumps to get offensive rebound, lands on the floor after jumping and securing rebound, goes through the usual motion to make the put back shot, is fouled in the act of shooting, foul causes player to bring ball back down, after ball is brought back down, he pushes it up again, and in this case, misses the shot. It almost looked like a double pump motion. Easy call. Fouled in the act of shooting. Missed shot. Two free throws.

The problem was, that the ball almost went in, so I wondered, after the game, in discussing this play with my partner, what I would have done if the ball did go in? Use continuous motion, and count the basket, one free throw? Or, did the "double pump" motion stop the continuous motion, thus, take away the basket, two free throws?

There were clearly, to my eye, two separate shot attempts. Would it make a difference if the shooter was airborne for both of these "two" shots? If airborne has an impact on this, I would have no idea what to call, because as the lead, I was looking at the contact, at head, and above level, and even being deep on the endline, I made no observation as to whether the shooter was airborne the entire time, or not.
I've had this happen 2 or 3 times and I awarded 2 shots declared no basket. It was deemed correct by the evaluator.
Another similar sitch is where the shooter is fouled in the act but travels before releasing the ball. Same thing -- 2 shots, no basket.
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 12:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I can see not allowing the basket on the travel, but why not the double pump?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I can see not allowing the basket on the travel, but why not the double pump?
If he doesn't release the ball, it's either a held ball or a travel.

The way I read BillyMac's situation, I have no basket (if the second one goes), but 2 FTs for the original foul.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 02:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
If he doesn't release the ball, it's either a held ball or a travel.

The way I read BillyMac's situation, I have no basket (if the second one goes), but 2 FTs for the original foul.
If the foul is on the arm, no held ball. If the player doesn't return to the floor, no travel.
I'm seeing a double pump move from the shooter that would have been totally legal without the foul. Why are we taking away a basket just because the shooter does a legal double pump after starting his shooting motion?

Give him the shot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
If the foul is on the arm, no held ball. If the player doesn't return to the floor, no travel.
I'm seeing a double pump move from the shooter that would have been totally legal without the foul. Why are we taking away a basket just because the shooter does a legal double pump after starting his shooting motion?

Give him the shot.
When I read the situation, I assumed that the player jumped to attempt the first shot.

Assuming the player stayed on the floor, I'd say count the basket.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 10:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalreff
I've had this happen 2 or 3 times and I awarded 2 shots declared no basket. It was deemed correct by the evaluator.
.
I see a problem...I hope you're in double bonus because good luck selling even the most pleasant coach that he was fouled on the shot which went in, but we're not counting it because he wasn't really shooting just making a pump fake. I agree there is a line when it is obvious the foul happened and he stopped his initial shot attempt and then just put up another shot after the foul, and where that line is is sometimes hard to determine. I am picturing two different situations, in one it is obvious to everyone in the gym that the shot attempt and foul were separate from the scoring goal, and one when it is likely separate but not so obvious. When I'm observing I'm making a note when its not so obvious and I can't figure out why they are shooting 2.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
The Div. I official is also working the event. It's a boys event with some of the best players in the country and officials from all over the country.

I think you all have answered my question ... the fould occured while the player was gathering the ball on a jump stop.

This official (nice guy) was trying to explain that there is continuous motion -- I just did not see how it fit into this play. A1 had not even come down when the foul was called and could have done a variety of things once he jump stopped! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1