The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 10:25am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,410
Backboard Shot ...

I would like to see more opinions on the correctable error part of this discussion:

NFHS: Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in:
a. Failure to award a merited free throw.
b. Awarding an unmerited free throw.
c. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw.
d. Attempting a free throw at the wrong basket.
e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

If this had been a NFHS game, could the officials, within the time frame of a correctable error, stop the game, discuss the possibility that the over-the-backboard rule may have been inadvertently set aside on the play, and decide to count, or cancel the score? Isn't that what 2-10 is for?

If an official erroneously counts a basket during a player control foul, and the scorekeeper adds two points to the team's total score, can't an official correct the error during the correctable error time frame, and cancel the score?

Here's one we might see a couple times a season: Two man game, three point shot is taken from foul line extended, on lead's side, possible "dual coverage" area, one official signals three attempt, and three score, the other official doesn't signal anything, scorekeeper adds three points to the team total, one official decides to discuss the play with partner, blows the whistle after the throwin after the made field goal to discuss, time limit for correctable error hasn't expired, officials decide that the shooter did step on the line. Can't the officials correct the erroneously counted score by canceling the extra point?

In my opinion, all three of these situations involve correctable errors, that can be corrected in the prescribed time frame. These are not bookkeeping errors, or mistakes, that can be corrected up until the officials' jurisdiction ends. Nor are these errors, or mistakes, that do not fall under Rule 2-10, and cannot be corrected.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, just be sure to correct me no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Mar 09, 2008 at 11:30am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 12:06pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
I would like to see more opinions on the correctable error part of this discussion:
Gee, are you saying that we should be able to let the play go back and forth as long as the ball doesn't become dead.....maybe for 5-6 different possessions.....and at the first dead ball we can then get together and say "Hey, I think that we missed a goaltending call. Let's count the basket now."

My opinion?

Silly monkeys......
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 01:12pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,410
Good Point, But ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Are you saying that we should be able to let the play go back and forth as long as the ball doesn't become dead, maybe for 5-6 different possessions, and at the first dead ball we can then get together and say "Hey, I think that we missed a ........ call. Let's ......... the basket now."
Jurassic Referee: Good point. Forget about the goaltending call for now. I'm not ignoring it, I will get back to it shortly. I took the liberty of editing your post to reflect that.

Doesn't Rule 2-10 allow us to do exactly what you (edited) stated, once the officials are 100% sure that they are dealing with a correctable error? Let's look at a different example, let's say the example I gave of the three point shot that is later decided by the officials to be only a two point shot, with a few alterations, for sake of argument. At the time of the shot Team A is tied with Team B. The supposed three pointer puts Team A up by three points. The "play go(es) back and forth as long as the ball doesn't become dead, maybe for 5-6 different possessions, and at the first dead ball" one official, the one who thinks it was a two point shot, for the first time since the shot, decides to look at the scoreboard, sees that three points were added to Team A instead of the two he thought Team A should have received. Blows the whistle for a conference with his partner. Two Point Official: "Did you count that last basket as a two or three? I didn't see your signal before, or after, the attempt". Three Point Official: "I counted it as a three. I was 95% sure, but I got blocked out by the opponent right before the release of the ball. I'm sure that he was behind the arc a split second before the release. Did you get a better look?". Two Point Official: "Yes, I got a great look. Right before the release, the shooter just barely touched the line. I'm 100% sure. I guess that's why the coach is complaining." Three Point Official: "OK, I'll go along with you since you got a good, 100%, sure angle on the play. I'll go over to the table, invite the two coaches over, and I'll make sure that the last basket was recorded as a two pointer".

Could it happen, by rule, like this? I think that it could.

Now, the important question, the one that I wanted to revisit. Is the over-the backboard play, the player control foul counting the basket play, the two or three point play, or your goaltending play, covered by rule 2-10, specifically the part about erroneously counting or canceling a score?

Again, if, and it's a big if, these situations are intended to be covered by Rule 2-10, a large amount of time can pass between the error and the correction.

Bottom line for me:
Over the Backboard: Not sure if it's correctable.
Player Control Foul Basket Counted: Correctable Error.
Two Or Three Points: Correctable Error.
Goaltending: Not sure if it's corrrectable.

Looking forward to responses from Jurassic Referee, or from other Forum members.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 10:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
I would like to see more opinions on the correctable error part of this discussion:

NFHS: Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in:
a. Failure to award a merited free throw.
b. Awarding an unmerited free throw.
c. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw.
d. Attempting a free throw at the wrong basket.
e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

If this had been a NFHS game, could the officials, within the time frame of a correctable error, stop the game, discuss the possibility that the over-the-backboard rule may have been inadvertently set aside on the play, and decide to count, or cancel the score? Isn't that what 2-10 is for?

If an official erroneously counts a basket during a player control foul, and the scorekeeper adds two points to the team's total score, can't an official correct the error during the correctable error time frame, and cancel the score?

Here's one we might see a couple times a season: Two man game, three point shot is taken from foul line extended, on lead's side, possible "dual coverage" area, one official signals three attempt, and three score, the other official doesn't signal anything, scorekeeper adds three points to the team total, one official decides to discuss the play with partner, blows the whistle after the throwin after the made field goal to discuss, time limit for correctable error hasn't expired, officials decide that the shooter did step on the line. Can't the officials correct the erroneously counted score by canceling the extra point?

In my opinion, all three of these situations involve correctable errors, that can be corrected in the prescribed time frame. These are not bookkeeping errors, or mistakes, that can be corrected up until the officials' jurisdiction ends. Nor are these errors, or mistakes, that do not fall under Rule 2-10, and cannot be corrected.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, just be sure to correct me no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.
I hope it is Billy because that's exactly what we did in our last game of the season. The scenario that I posted is exactly what happened in our game. I was L so I had no idea whether it went over the backboard or not. But the T, who was also the R, came to me as the teams were leaving the floor and said it went over the backboard. We agreed that it was within the CE rule to cancel the basket and he did.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 11:42pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
I hope it is Billy because that's exactly what we did in our last game of the season. The scenario that I posted is exactly what happened in our game. I was L so I had no idea whether it went over the backboard or not. But the T, who was also the R, came to me as the teams were leaving the floor and said it went over the backboard. We agreed that it was within the CE rule to cancel the basket and he did.

So how come he didn't call it at the time?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cal/UCLA DD?? rainmaker Basketball 25 Sun Mar 09, 2008 05:17pm
Usc-ucla rainmaker Basketball 6 Mon Jan 21, 2008 03:00pm
An Editorial: The state of HS sports and its a free country Dakota Softball 1 Wed Jan 31, 2007 09:27am
UCLA Texas & UCLA NW tcblue13 Softball 3 Mon Jun 05, 2006 04:53pm
Hot in the North Country also WestMichBlue Softball 4 Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1