The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 29, 2008, 12:55am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Not our responsibility...

to tell the coach how many time outs he/she has left till that amount reaches ZERO. This situation is the exact reason why it isn't our responsibility. I don't care how many they have left till it is zero.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 29, 2008, 01:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mizzouah!
Posts: 352
Look at Casebook 5.8.3e

The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now? RULE: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both team.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 29, 2008, 01:50am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by budjones05
Look at Casebook 5.8.3e

The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now? RULE: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both team.
So, it doesn't say that they don't get the penalty of a T for the extra. Don't read into the case plays. They are what is there, no more no less. They bought the privlidge of the TO at the cost of the T.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 29, 2008, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
Is this a fair assessment...

The scorekeeper gave erroneous information to the officials who relayed the information to the coach in an effort to use 'preventative officiating'.

At some point after that, the scorekeeper made a change to their book which recorded a timeout by the team that was ultimately penalized.

But, what we know for sure is that the scorekeeper failed to follow 2.11.6
Art. 6... Record the time-out information charged to each team (who and when) and notify a team and its coach, through an official, whenever that team is granted its final allotted charged time-out.

They did not notify the coach through the officials when they had used their last time out.

Despite this failure by the scorekeeper, the team is assessed the technical foul for requesting (and being granted) a timeout when they had none available.

Bottom line it just a "life is hard" moment for the team that is affected by this error. No recourse by rule. Correct?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sites I figure you've seen by now.... OverAndBack Football 3 Thu Aug 03, 2006 04:19pm
Figure this one out DrakeRaker Basketball 11 Sat Jan 21, 2006 01:30pm
Figure this one out! Brian Basketball 4 Mon Feb 21, 2000 04:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1