The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 711
subsitution

A1 is in the game. B2 is fouled and gets to shoot free throws. A6 subs A1 out of the game.
A) B2 shoots the 1st free throw. A1 goes to the table to report back into the game. The official beckons A1 to enter the game. The ball is at B2 disposal and an Official notices that A1 is in the game.
B) B2 shoots the 1st free throw. A1 goes to the table to report back into the game. The official beckons A1 to enter the game. B2 makes the 2nd free throw and Team A has the ball at their disposal and an Official notices A1 in the game.
C) B2 shoots the 1st free throw. A1 goes to the table to report back into the game. The official beckons A1 to enter the game. B2 misses the 2nd free throw and Team A has rebounded the ball and at their disposal and an Official notices A1 in the game.

Does A1 stay in the game? Or is A1 removed?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
A1 is in the game. B2 is fouled and gets to shoot free throws. A6 subs A1 out of the game.
A) B2 shoots the 1st free throw. A1 goes to the table to report back into the game. The official beckons A1 to enter the game. The ball is at B2 disposal and an Official notices that A1 is in the game.
B) B2 shoots the 1st free throw. A1 goes to the table to report back into the game. The official beckons A1 to enter the game. B2 makes the 2nd free throw and Team A has the ball at their disposal and an Official notices A1 in the game.
C) B2 shoots the 1st free throw. A1 goes to the table to report back into the game. The official beckons A1 to enter the game. B2 misses the 2nd free throw and Team A has rebounded the ball and at their disposal and an Official notices A1 in the game.

Does A1 stay in the game? Or is A1 removed?

Huh??
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 25
Are you asking if a player - A1 in this case - can be substituted for and then return to the game during the same dead ball period? If B is shooting two, A1 won't even be replaced until after the first shot. If one and one, he will be replaced before the first shot.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 89
I'm pretty sure if A1 is subbed out, the clock must move before he or she can be subbed back into the game.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia Area, PA
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
A1 is in the game. B2 is fouled and gets to shoot free throws. A6 subs A1 out of the game.
A) B2 shoots the 1st free throw. A1 goes to the table to report back into the game. The official beckons A1 to enter the game. The ball is at B2 disposal and an Official notices that A1 is in the game.
B) B2 shoots the 1st free throw. A1 goes to the table to report back into the game. The official beckons A1 to enter the game. B2 makes the 2nd free throw and Team A has the ball at their disposal and an Official notices A1 in the game.
C) B2 shoots the 1st free throw. A1 goes to the table to report back into the game. The official beckons A1 to enter the game. B2 misses the 2nd free throw and Team A has rebounded the ball and at their disposal and an Official notices A1 in the game.

Does A1 stay in the game? Or is A1 removed?
On a 2 shot foul, no subs should enter until after the first FT attempt. So A1 couldn't be taken/sub'ed out before the 1st shot and then let back in after the first shot.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
In A and B, blow the whistle, stop play, and have A1 replaced and inform the coach he must wait until the clock runs.

In C, it's too late. Clock has already started running anyway. Play on.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:49pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by psujaye
On a 2 shot foul, no subs should enter until after the first FT attempt. So A1 couldn't be taken/sub'ed out before the 1st shot and then let back in after the first shot.
Sure he could.
Let's say A6 is waiting to sub when the foul occurs. During the play, B3 was injured and replaced prior to the first shot. You would then allow A6 to come in as well.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
A1 is in the game. B2 is fouled and gets to shoot free throws. A6 subs A1 out of the game.
A) B2 shoots the 1st free throw. A1 goes to the table to report back into the game. The official beckons A1 to enter the game. The ball is at B2 disposal and an Official notices that A1 is in the game.
B) B2 shoots the 1st free throw. A1 goes to the table to report back into the game. The official beckons A1 to enter the game. B2 makes the 2nd free throw and Team A has the ball at their disposal and an Official notices A1 in the game.
C) B2 shoots the 1st free throw. A1 goes to the table to report back into the game. The official beckons A1 to enter the game. B2 misses the 2nd free throw and Team A has rebounded the ball and at their disposal and an Official notices A1 in the game.

Does A1 stay in the game? Or is A1 removed?
A substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court. If entry is not legal, the substitute becomes a player when the ball becomes live. Every one of your senaroes has the ball live....sooo refer to case book play 3.3.3 Situation B
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 215
I'm still not even sure if I understand what you're asking, but in each of your scenarios an official beckoned A1 into the game, so why should it be a surprise that they notice A1 in the game thereafter? If you're talking about an illegal substitution, then that is handled when they notice A1 trying to re-enter the game. Once they've entered the game, or the ball becomes live, they're there to stay...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
The difference here, though, is that A1 is ineligible to play until the clock has run. He's not an illegal substitution. I think it's different.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
In A and B, blow the whistle, stop play, and have A1 replaced and inform the coach he must wait until the clock runs.
Not correct (by rule). Ball is at their disposal, and is therefore a live ball. At this point A1 becomes a legal player.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia Area, PA
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Sure he could.
Let's say A6 is waiting to sub when the foul occurs. During the play, B3 was injured and replaced prior to the first shot. You would then allow A6 to come in as well.
well that's a different post.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Looks to me like Indiana got it right - A1 stays because the "illegal substitute" has become a player once the ball has become live. That said, I haven't opened up my books today...

Most posters didn't understand that you were asking whether A1 should be removed because the officials made the mistake of allowing him/her back in the game before he/she was legally able to re-enter.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 07:53pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,840
Remember This ...

You don't have to play a tick, but, you do have to sit a tick.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subsitution Zoochy Basketball 14 Fri Mar 02, 2007 06:50pm
Subsitution problems tomegun Basketball 29 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1