![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
BTW, I'm curious about the answers to the section question. The NFHS rule book says that if a ball is batted into the air during a dribble, it must hit the hit the floor before being touched again. However, if a dribbler presses the ball toward the floor, releases that hand, then touches with the other hand before it hits the floor, is that illegal? If the dribbler bats the ball sideways, then presses with the other hand toward the floor? If the dribbler bats the ball at a 45 degree angle downward toward the floor and his other hand, then dribbles with the other hand before it hits the floor? In none of these cases, did he ever touch with two hands simultaneously. But what gets me is does "batted into the air" imply that the ball gets batted upward? I ask because this came up in a game recently. JT Last edited by jefftuck; Wed Feb 27, 2008 at 10:48am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
By definition, a dribble starts when the ball is batted or pushed to the floor(R4-15-1). Anything that happens after that is during a dribble, and the applicable rules are valid until the dribble has ended. The rule that you're now referring to--rule 4-15-2- is a little hazy because of the "bat" terminology that is used. If it's not 100% clear, that's when you get out the ol' case book to see if that'll help. Voila!. Casebook play 4.15.4SitDCOMMENT gives you your answer when it states definitively that it's a violation to touch the ball twice during a dribble before the ball touches the floor again. That should answer all of your questions above. Sound OK? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
JT |
|
|||
|
Quote:
My advice is to take it to your association/state interpreter. Maybe you'll believe them. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
More entertaining too.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Btw, shut up. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The whole in your face thing just doesn't play if he's not wearing the cape and the shiny knee-high boots.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
In his defense, other than the above mentioned case play, how can we tell it is a violation to touch the ball with one hand followed by the other before it hits the floor? This play deals specifically with batting the ball over the head of the opponent. I understand his confusion.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
After the start of a dribble, these acts are illegal. But to start a dribble, pending restricted foot movement, these acts are probably legal. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Carrying the bat to 1st | CLBuffalo | Softball | 4 | Thu Apr 27, 2006 03:58pm |
| Traveling, palming, carrying | World-wide Fan | Basketball | 9 | Tue Sep 13, 2005 10:30am |
| carrying bat to 1st base | mkuestersteffen | Softball | 15 | Tue Jun 21, 2005 11:04am |
| Carrying bat | blue2u | Softball | 15 | Tue Jul 27, 2004 02:30pm |
| Carrying the ball | drinkeii | Volleyball | 3 | Tue Sep 24, 2002 03:33pm |