![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Striking the ball with the fist is imho always a violation, you can't apply advantage/disadvantage in a few situations, double dribble, Out of bounds and this one qualifies for me (and a few more). And I acctually think that the sign should be the same as the one for a double-dribble. Since the sign is for "illegal dribble or double dribble" and striking the ball with the fist is an illegal way of dribbling, the sign should be the same. That's just my opinion though
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules |
|
|||
|
Crazy, re: your statement that fisting is always a violation and you can't call advantage/disadvantage in just a few situations.....
Wanna bet? There exists in the nether world of officiating what is known as the "expected call". It has been stated that: 1) Advantage/disadvantage applies to all contact when it comes to calling fouls. 2) Advantage/disadvantage does not apply to violations. Unfortunately, in real life, it isn't that easy. For fouls, if the contact is excessive, flagrant, unsporting or gives a team an unfair advantage, the foul must be called. Fuggedabout advantage/disadvantage. For violations, most violations are called without regard to advantage/disadvantage. Double dribble, out of bounds, backcourt, deliberate kick, etc., etc. are some examples of that, as you stated. However, over the years, it has become customary amongst the vast percentage(96.87%) of officials to call a few violations by advantage/disadvantage. Note the "few"! These have become the "expected call". These violations include three seconds, 10 seconds for a FT shooter to shoot, and maybe a fist that is nowhere near another player. Right or wrong, it usually is the way that these certain (few) types of violations are uniformly called. And believe it or not, it seems that the rulesmakers are actually aware of what is happening in real life. A good example of this might have been a few years ago when a player throwing an elbow without contact was supposed to be automatically given a technical foul. Well, the vast majority of officials from sea to shining sea thought the penalty was way too strict and refused to call it. They either ignored it or simply warned the offending player. The rulesmakers finally reacted to what was happening in real life and changed the penalty to a violation. A player leaving the court for an unauthorized reason is another good example of this. That used to be a technical foul also. Most officials refused to call it strictly because they felt the penalty was too severe for what they though was a fairly minor rules violation. It now is a violation and it is being called. Of course, there have also been examples of calls that maybe were heading towards the "expected" category and the rulesmakers didn't want that particular play to go that way. An example was a thrower stepping in bounds in the backcourt after a made basket with no pressure and no defenders in the area. Some officials were starting to ignore that call also, applying advantage/disadvantage. Well, the rulesmakers stepped in on this one and said screw the "expected" call and call the violation. They added a case play to emphasize how they wanted it called. Soooooo, to sum up: - You call most violations all of the time. -You call a few violations some of the time. Deal with it. It is what it is. Shrug. Jmho...... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I am not aware of the NFHS/NCAA/FED rules for striking the ball with the fist but in FIBA 13.2.1 it is quite clear that it is not allowed and is a violation.
And yes, advantage/disadvantage is good and should be apllied to a lot of stuff (like fouls, we can't call every single contact). But this is not one of those, just as you can't ignore a player standing outside the court holding the ball (unless it is a throw-in offcourse) you can't ignore this. I still belive that striking the ball with the fist is just like the double dribble, there is no advantage/disadvantage, just a violation to be called.
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A player shall not travel or run with the ball, intentionally kick it, strike it with the fist or cause it to pass through the basket and enter the cylinder from below.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
How Often Have You Not Seen This ???
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Second time different game. A1 attempts to pass the ball to A2 in the restricted area (key) B1 reaches out with a fist and punches ball away, tweet. In both cases I do not at all understand the logic of this play except to say they are clueless about the game. In the first situation A1 had a height advantage and could have easily tipped the ball upwards to get it out of reach of B1. In the second situation B1 could have tipped the ball with an open hand, or tried to intercept the pass. So it looks like I have 54 years worth of experience with this play from one weekends work
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
what don't you understand: FOLLOWING a violation I HAD TO make a call. Sorry I am speaking in FIBA, so it all makes sense to me and 5.7 billion non ncaa/nfhs players/people. If you need any more clarifications, post the question in french and I'll get back to you the following week
|
|
|||
|
Other than the generic violation signal? I see where CA originally also used the "kick" signal too. Is this what everyone else uses? Is there another preferred signal? Or, just go with "violation." Just curious as I've never called it.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
38-5 In order to avoid a defensive player, A4 runs out of bounds and around the player before returning to the in-bounds area. The official warns A4 and coach A not to repeat the action. A4 again goes out of bounds to avoid a defensive player. Shall a technical foul be charged to A4? (Answer) Yes. To permit a player to go out of bounds in this way would be to give that player an unfair advantage and because a warning has been given a technical foul shall be charged. (see also 38-7 a players momentum from jumping to gain control or pass the ball carries them out of bounds = no infraction) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Oh what a night.... | tjones1 | Baseball | 29 | Fri Jun 17, 2005 03:41pm |
| Bad Night | gostars | Basketball | 17 | Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:35am |
| Must be something in the air every night | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 3 | Tue Jul 15, 2003 09:43am |
| First Night.... | CDcoach | Baseball | 19 | Thu May 29, 2003 03:14pm |
| Saw this one last night... | davearm | Softball | 3 | Wed Jun 12, 2002 01:16pm |