The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 12:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadCityRef
If A1 makes any movement associated with attempting a shot, shoot 2.
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
In the judgement of the official, the grab by B1 causes A1 from continuing the shooting motion. The official should award A1 with 2 shots due to being in the act of shooting.
Guys, that's not what he's asking.

He knows the kid is in the act of shooting. But he's stating that since the shooter didn't complete the shot, he can't shoot it after the contact, even though he hasn't returned to the floor.

Re-read the post.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 01:23am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Guys, that's not what he's asking.

He knows the kid is in the act of shooting. But he's stating that since the shooter didn't complete the shot, he can't shoot it after the contact, even though he hasn't returned to the floor.

Re-read the post.
OP doesn't say anything about him being off the floor. I picture a pump fake, then as he starts to put it up and gets grabbed. If this is the case, (Billy Mac, you wanna clarify this?) one could rule that the try ended and wave off the shot if another one begins, correct?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 06:23am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
I picture a pump fake, then as he starts to put it up and gets grabbed. If this is the case, (Billy Mac, you wanna clarify this?) one could rule that the try ended and wave off the shot if another one begins, correct?
I suppose one could rule that if one was a mind reader. See rule 4-11-2. If the shooter can fight through the foul and get the ball in flight, count the basket if it goes in.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 10:27am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I suppose one could rule that if one was a mind reader. See rule 4-11-2. If the shooter can fight through the foul and get the ball in flight, count the basket if it goes in.
It has nothing to do with being a mind reader. B1 grabs A1's arm and effectively stops his shot. After the foul call, B1 releases the arm. How long did all this take? Uhhhh, I think, not very long? A1 quickly throws up another shot, which even if it goes in, does not count. Shoot 2.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Guys, that's not what he's asking.

He knows the kid is in the act of shooting. But he's stating that since the shooter didn't complete the shot, he can't shoot it after the contact, even though he hasn't returned to the floor.

Re-read the post.
I read the post. A1 was in the act of shooting was grabbed by B1(holding) foul!; whistle; pump fake; shot; disallow the shot. A1 will shoot 2 for being in the act of shooting.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Where did you read anything about a pump fake?

A player who pump fakes does not get consideration for continuation or being in the act of shooting because he is NOT shooting.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Sun Feb 24, 2008 at 01:36pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 02:25pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Wow ...

Wow. I didn't expect this situation to be so controversial.

I know it's tough to describe a play like this in words. Heck, I was there, and I have trouble replaying it in my mind.

1) I know that the shooter was not airborne. He was a little on the "husky" side, and didn't do much jumping during the game. However, I am interested in how the call would be different if he was airborne?

2) I didn't use the term "pump fake" because that's not what I saw, especially the kind of "pump fake" that would cause many of us to call a three second violation on the shooter despite the exception to the rule. This can best be described as a "double pump". In other words, it looked like, if I had not blown the whistle for the foul, he was going to try to shot "again" after having it blocked the first time.

Hope this helps. Play on ....

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Feb 24, 2008 at 02:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 04:12pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
1) I know that the shooter was not airborne. He was a little on the "husky" side, and didn't do much jumping during the game. However, I am interested in how the call would be different if he was airborne?
If he had been airborne, you would have a definitive end to the try, that being when he returned to the floor. Otherwise, I would say that no matter what else happened, if he managed to release the ball before coming down, the shot would count.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 89
I officiate in Maryland. There is no seat belt rule that I have ever heard of.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS season is finished... Andy Volleyball 10 Fri Nov 30, 2007 03:03pm
Just finished Part I: Anyone willing to grade it? Vancer Football 1 Tue Sep 05, 2006 09:25am
HS season is finished.. Andy Softball 3 Fri May 21, 2004 09:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1