The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Violations.....or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/42139-violations-not.html)

Illini_Ref Fri Feb 22, 2008 09:05pm

Violations.....or not?
 
NFHS rules. Can someone give answers and references please?

1. A1 saves a loose ball near the sideline. He saves it inbounds. The ball touches the court. A1 runs back inbounds and continues the dribble. A1 had not dribbled the ball prior to this play, he just saved a loose ball.

2. A1 saves the same loose ball. He gets back inbounds and catches the ball before it hits the floor.

3. A1 is dribbling down the sideline. He is loosing his balance OOB so he steps out of bounds and back in and continues dribbling.

4. A1 is dribbling. B1 slaps the ball away and A1 saves it as in sitch 1.


I know for instance that 3 is illegal. However, is it called whent eh dribbler goes OOB, or when he returns and touches?

tjones1 Fri Feb 22, 2008 09:28pm

7.1.1 Situation D

9-3-3: Dead when the violation occurs.

Illini_Ref Fri Feb 22, 2008 09:28pm

That takes care of 1,2, and 4. Right? What are you calling in #3? Do we agree that 1,2, and 4 are LEGAL plays?

tjones1 Fri Feb 22, 2008 09:36pm

9-3-3

Leaving for unauthorized reason. Ball is dead when the violation occurs.

tjones1 Fri Feb 22, 2008 09:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
Do we agree that 1,2, and 4 are LEGAL plays?

Yes.

ca_rumperee Fri Feb 22, 2008 09:46pm

My takes..
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
NFHS rules. Can someone give answers and references please?

1. A1 saves a loose ball near the sideline. He saves it inbounds. The ball touches the court. A1 runs back inbounds and continues the dribble. A1 had not dribbled the ball prior to this play, he just saved a loose ball.

Legal play.
Quote:


2. A1 saves the same loose ball. He gets back inbounds and catches the ball before it hits the floor.
If tapped it back, I would say that is legal. If he jumped, controlled the ball, passed it up in the air, came back and caught his pass, I would call a travel.
Quote:


3. A1 is dribbling down the sideline. He is loosing his balance OOB so he steps out of bounds and back in and continues dribbling.
Legal play as long as he is never oob while dribbling.
Quote:


4. A1 is dribbling. B1 slaps the ball away and A1 saves it as in sitch 1.
Legal play.
Quote:


I know for instance that 3 is illegal. However, is it called when the dribbler goes OOB, or when he returns and touches?

ca_rumperee Fri Feb 22, 2008 09:48pm

I would say legal.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
9-3-3

Leaving for unauthorized reason. Ball is dead when the violation occurs.

... if his momentum carries him out (losing his balance) then leaving the court is legal.

tjones1 Fri Feb 22, 2008 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
If tapped it back, I would say that is legal. If he jumped, controlled the ball, passed it up in the air, came back and caught his pass, I would call a travel.

Why would it be a travel?

tjones1 Fri Feb 22, 2008 09:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
... if his momentum carries him out (losing his balance) then leaving the court is legal.

How is his momentum going to carry him out if he's running/dribbling parallel to the sideline?

Illini_Ref Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:04pm

Rule 9-3-2 (Note) makes #3 illegal. A dribbler who steps out of bounds is OOB and has committed a violation even if he is not touching the ball while OOB. I assume this is to be called when he steps on the boundary or OOB. In #3, is the player dribbling? I think so. He was dribbling and the dribble never ended.

tjones1 Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:09pm

Ahhh yes, for all of Section 3, the ball is dead when the violation occurs.

Illini_Ref Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:13pm

Here's a catch. Say A1 is dribbling on a tightrope down the sideline. He loses his balance and steps on the line. A2 continues the dribble. You blowing it dead?

ca_rumperee Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:17pm

cuz...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
[Quote:]
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
If tapped it back, I would say that is legal. If he jumped, controlled the ball, passed it up in the air, came back and caught his pass, I would call a travel.

Why would it be a travel?[/QUOTE]

If player leapt and controlled.... imagine him calling a time out falling out of bounds -- (which I would grant)
He then throws the ball up in the air.... lands out of bounds.... runs back on the court... establishes back onto court and catches the ball. Traveling, no?
'
ps. is it only me, or should traveling be spelled travelling?

Illini_Ref Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Why would it be a travel?

Good question. I agree you can't pass to yourself because that usually requires moving a pivot foot. However, there is no pivot foot here. If you look at case 4.15.4(b), this is an illegal dribble. Tossing and catching after steps without the ball touching the floor is an illegal dribble. Strange, but true.

ca_rumperee Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:18pm

Not all that uncommon.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
Here's a catch. Say A1 is dribbling on a tightrope down the sideline. He loses his balance and steps on the line. A2 continues the dribble. You blowing it dead?

I guess you have to sort out whether he has re-established himself inbounds.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1