![]() |
Violations.....or not?
NFHS rules. Can someone give answers and references please?
1. A1 saves a loose ball near the sideline. He saves it inbounds. The ball touches the court. A1 runs back inbounds and continues the dribble. A1 had not dribbled the ball prior to this play, he just saved a loose ball. 2. A1 saves the same loose ball. He gets back inbounds and catches the ball before it hits the floor. 3. A1 is dribbling down the sideline. He is loosing his balance OOB so he steps out of bounds and back in and continues dribbling. 4. A1 is dribbling. B1 slaps the ball away and A1 saves it as in sitch 1. I know for instance that 3 is illegal. However, is it called whent eh dribbler goes OOB, or when he returns and touches? |
7.1.1 Situation D
9-3-3: Dead when the violation occurs. |
That takes care of 1,2, and 4. Right? What are you calling in #3? Do we agree that 1,2, and 4 are LEGAL plays?
|
9-3-3
Leaving for unauthorized reason. Ball is dead when the violation occurs. |
Quote:
|
My takes..
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
I would say legal.
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Rule 9-3-2 (Note) makes #3 illegal. A dribbler who steps out of bounds is OOB and has committed a violation even if he is not touching the ball while OOB. I assume this is to be called when he steps on the boundary or OOB. In #3, is the player dribbling? I think so. He was dribbling and the dribble never ended.
|
Ahhh yes, for all of Section 3, the ball is dead when the violation occurs.
|
Here's a catch. Say A1 is dribbling on a tightrope down the sideline. He loses his balance and steps on the line. A2 continues the dribble. You blowing it dead?
|
cuz...
Quote:
If player leapt and controlled.... imagine him calling a time out falling out of bounds -- (which I would grant) He then throws the ball up in the air.... lands out of bounds.... runs back on the court... establishes back onto court and catches the ball. Traveling, no? ' ps. is it only me, or should traveling be spelled travelling? |
Quote:
|
Not all that uncommon.
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
hrm....
Quote:
The OOB has occurred during the un-interrupted dribble here. Could that be right? Say there was no pressure. Say A1 is dribbling in the back court. Girls high school with a shot clock. No defensive pressure. Player is dribbling in the middle of the floor at the free throw line in her back court.... Dribbles the ball HARD into the floor! (so that the ball pops up into the air 20 feet) Runs to the sideline to give her coach a string that she found on the floor. Steps OOB and hands it to the coach.... then runs back and resuscusitates her dribble.... thats an OOB violation? You call it when she steps OOB? or when she resumes her dribble? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
But, assume we had a dribbler who, with perfect rhythm, would step on the line when the ball hit the floor, and step inbounds when the ball hit the hand. This would be legal if we didn't have the "dribbler rule" in place -- and could give the offense an advantage not intended by rule. SO, the NFHS added the rule / commetn (whateverit is). Call it with that intent. |
I'm all good with that
Quote:
If I see the ball touch oob or the dribbler's foot touch oob it is a violation. The rule is straightforward here. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18pm. |