The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Violations.....or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/42139-violations-not.html)

Illini_Ref Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
I guess you have to sort out whether he has re-established himself inbounds.

Rules clearly state that a dribbler has violated when he steps OOB, regardless of whether he is touching the ball when he does so. I think that if he obviously dribble passed to A2, then this is fine, otherwise it is a violation as soon as he steps OOB.

ca_rumperee Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:47pm

hrm....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
Rules clearly state that a dribbler has violated when he steps OOB, regardless of whether he is touching the ball when he does so. I think that if he obviously dribble passed to A2, then this is fine, otherwise it is a violation as soon as he steps OOB.

so, if a1 is dribbling lets say, under the basket with no pressure, runs over to the sideline, steps out of bounds, then runs back and resumes the dribble (indulge me here) then we have an OOB violation?

The OOB has occurred during the un-interrupted dribble here. Could that be right?

Say there was no pressure. Say A1 is dribbling in the back court. Girls high school with a shot clock. No defensive pressure. Player is dribbling in the middle of the floor at the free throw line in her back court....

Dribbles the ball HARD into the floor! (so that the ball pops up into the air 20 feet) Runs to the sideline to give her coach a string that she found on the floor. Steps OOB and hands it to the coach.... then runs back and resuscusitates her dribble.... thats an OOB violation?

You call it when she steps OOB? or when she resumes her dribble?

tjones1 Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
Good question. I agree you can't pass to yourself because that usually requires moving a pivot foot. However, there is no pivot foot here. If you look at case 4.15.4(b), this is an illegal dribble. Tossing and catching after steps without the ball touching the floor is an illegal dribble. Strange, but true.

Agreed, that was my point.

bob jenkins Sat Feb 23, 2008 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
so, if a1 is dribbling lets say, under the basket with no pressure, runs over to the sideline, steps out of bounds, then runs back and resumes the dribble (indulge me here) then we have an OOB violation?

The OOB has occurred during the un-interrupted dribble here. Could that be right?

Say there was no pressure. Say A1 is dribbling in the back court. Girls high school with a shot clock. No defensive pressure. Player is dribbling in the middle of the floor at the free throw line in her back court....

Dribbles the ball HARD into the floor! (so that the ball pops up into the air 20 feet) Runs to the sideline to give her coach a string that she found on the floor. Steps OOB and hands it to the coach.... then runs back and resuscusitates her dribble.... thats an OOB violation?

You call it when she steps OOB? or when she resumes her dribble?

"Normally" a person causes the ball to be oob when the player is oob and touches the ball.

But, assume we had a dribbler who, with perfect rhythm, would step on the line when the ball hit the floor, and step inbounds when the ball hit the hand. This would be legal if we didn't have the "dribbler rule" in place -- and could give the offense an advantage not intended by rule. SO, the NFHS added the rule / commetn (whateverit is).

Call it with that intent.

ca_rumperee Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:08am

I'm all good with that
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
"Normally" a person causes the ball to be oob when the player is oob and touches the ball.

But, assume we had a dribbler who, with perfect rhythm, would step on the line when the ball hit the floor, and step inbounds when the ball hit the hand. This would be legal if we didn't have the "dribbler rule" in place -- and could give the offense an advantage not intended by rule. SO, the NFHS added the rule / commetn (whateverit is).

Call it with that intent.

Player is dribbling up my sideline. I'm trail.
If I see the ball touch oob or the dribbler's foot touch oob it is a violation.
The rule is straightforward here.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1