The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Inbounding after made basket

After Team A scores...Team B player gathers ball for throw in, gets behind boundary line then steps 1 foot inbounds without passing ball in. Team B player then steps back out of bounds to throw. For NFHS and NCAA is this an automatic violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 07:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by regs1234
After Team A scores...Team B player gathers ball for throw in, gets behind boundary line then steps 1 foot inbounds without passing ball in. Team B player then steps back out of bounds to throw. For NFHS and NCAA is this an automatic violation?
For me, it's gonna depend on the circumstances. If the in-bounding player isn't really ready yet, and is just kinda blobling around, I'm not calling it. If he's oob ready to throw, and steps in then, yea, it's gotta be pretty much automatic.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 07:34pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
For me, it's gonna depend on the circumstances. If the in-bounding player isn't really ready yet, and is just kinda blobling around, I'm not calling it. If he's oob ready to throw, and steps in then, yea, it's gotta be pretty much automatic.
I agree with this. If there's a chance that the inbounder is still gathering themselves for the throw-in, then I pass. Once they've shown that they're in control of their feet while OOB, it's up to them to stay that way.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 08:36pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by regs1234
After Team A scores...Team B player gathers ball for throw in, gets behind boundary line then steps 1 foot inbounds without passing ball in. Team B player then steps back out of bounds to throw. For NFHS and NCAA is this an automatic violation?
See NFHS case book play 9.2.5 for direction.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1 to A2 OOB after B made basket RSmith Basketball 4 Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:30am
OOB after made basket dknick78 Basketball 24 Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:15am
Inbounding the ball after a made basket dsimp8 Basketball 1 Wed Mar 08, 2006 04:32pm
Made basket ttownterp Basketball 2 Thu Feb 23, 2006 08:36pm
inbound after made basket shont Basketball 6 Fri Dec 03, 2004 11:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1