The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member

doubtful they use contracts. The Pius X Academy I used to work for never did.
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
I am not a lawyer either, but I do believe that you can fire a contractor for any reason. It doesn't matter why.
A private company generally can (though there are still breach-of-contract issues to resolve).

An entity receiving public funding generally must comply with a whole host of additional regulations. I am an independent contractor in my "regular" job as well as my officiating. I understand I am not protected in pretty much any way, outside of the contract I have with a client.

That said, it is my advised understanding that a school or a government entity or a private entity operating with government funding cannot "fire" me or not allow me to fulfill my contract based on gender, race, age, etc.
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Discriminate when hiring an employee? No. BUT SHE IS NOT AN EMPLOYEE.

It's no different than picking up a phone book, calling a plumber, and then refusing to let her do the work because she's a woman. They are pefectly within their rights to use or not use anyone they choose.
They certainly are. But not if they are a government agency or operating with government funds. That's why it matters.

The public grade school cannot call up a plumber, have that plumber arrive with all necessary licenses and credentials, and then refuse to allow him to fix the drain because he's black. They just can't do it.