![]() |
|
|
|||
Point taken about agreeing with Bilas' statement. Although again, it needs context. I don't think I'm advocating that OOB calls should be ignored.
Let me put it this way: * Have you ever "saved a foul"? Isn't that ignoring a OOB call (on top of nonfoul call)? * Have you ever "overlooked" A1 with a toe over the endline while inbounding the ball in the backcourt to A2 while all other 8 players are in the forecourt? * Have you ever "ignored" the coach clearly standing out of his/her box during live ball who is merely coaching? * When two players foul an opponent at the same time, have you ever called a mulitple foul and penalized each defender with a foul, or just picked one player? While we may disagree on the GEO/NOVA sitch, I was trying to raise the merits to the "common sense" perspective in response to the "it's a rule, so you have to call it" argument. Of course, none of my supes or vets will agree with me here...mostly because they say only losers spend their days arguing in cyberspace and they wouldn't be caught dead publicizing their opinions in any forum, let alone a discussion board.
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency. |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't know whether that makes any sense to you or not, but that's my take on what happened. Stepping OOB is a gotta-get call. If(and the key word is "if") the player stepped on the line, then some kind of call had to be made. Again, jmo. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency. |
|
|||
Let me tell you what I had Friday night.
Granted, it happened in the 3rd quarter, and in a 10 point ball game, but it's eerily similar to what is being discussed here. I am administering the throw-in on the baseline. Blue is throwing the ball in. A1 throws to A2, right in front of A's bench. A2 receives the pass and is lightly bumped by B1, but it causes A2 to lose his balance and step out of bounds. My partner, a first year V official, at trail starts to give the ball back to blue for an inbounds play. Of course, B is saying that it should be there ball. I get together with my partner and tell him that we have one of 2 things that have to happen. Either white gets the ball, due to the OOB violation, or he has to call a foul against B1. Although this didn't come up in the discussion, at this point I don't think he knew who he would have called the foul on, and neither did I. We ended up giving the ball to B. Coach A didn't say much about it. After all, he had a 10 point lead at the time. And they ended up winning by 6.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Georgetown vs West Virginia | Jerrylh | Basketball | 13 | Wed Jan 30, 2008 07:09am |
Ohio State & Georgetown | All_Heart | Basketball | 45 | Sun Jun 03, 2007 05:36am |
Georgetown/UNC | tomegun | Basketball | 4 | Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:11pm |
BC / Nova | All_Heart | Basketball | 14 | Sat Mar 25, 2006 05:20pm |
Virginia-Georgetown | TGR | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 20, 2000 09:30am |