The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2008, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCott
Team A has just scored. Upon inbounding the ball, Team B is called for a 5 second violation. The person inbounding the ball for Team A takes three steps to the right and inbounds the ball. There is no whistle.

My thinking is that this should have been a violation. The 5 second call stops the clock and creates a dead ball situation? The person inbounding the ball should be restricted to the designated 3 foot throw in spot?
It isn't the "deadball" that creates a spot throw-in, it's that the throw-in isn't after the opponents scored or were awarded a basket.

If "three steps" means that neither foot was on or over teh 3' spot, then, yes, this shiould have been a violation.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
25 second count.... Mike51 Football 12 Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:11pm
Should it count? Ref in PA Basketball 25 Tue Dec 07, 2004 01:19pm
"L" 5 sec. count Bart Tyson Basketball 27 Fri Feb 20, 2004 01:24am
run count or not? chasbo Softball 10 Thu Feb 19, 2004 09:55am
Question, Does it count? walter Basketball 11 Tue Feb 06, 2001 01:14am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1