The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2008, 06:06pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDUB
Is that what the actual rule reads? What if the ball contacts the flange or backboard before it hits the ring?
The restrictions do end when the ball touches the backboard. That's a basic and Billy knew that.

Now you tell me....do the restrictions similarly end when the ball on a FT hits the flange?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2008, 06:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The restrictions do end when the ball touches the backboard. That's a basic and Billy knew that.
Not according to the rule Conn. IAABO rules.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Now you tell me....do the restrictions similarly end when the ball on a FT hits the flange?
Yes for an NCAA game.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2008, 07:02pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDUB
Yes for an NCAA game.
I didn't ask about NCAA rules; I asked about NFHS rules. Your answer?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2008, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I didn't ask about NCAA rules; I asked about NFHS rules.
You sure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Now you tell me....do the restrictions similarly end when the ball on a FT hits the flange?
I don't see you asking about any type of rules.

Last edited by LDUB; Sun Feb 10, 2008 at 11:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 06:58am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDUB
You sure?


I don't see you asking about any type of rules.
Those are the exact answers that I expected from you.

Billy knew what I was getting at. Obviously you didn't.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
I wish we had a shot clock in Texas. I'd be nice to slow the game down a bit.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2008, 08:49pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,513
Not Too Lazy This Time ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The restrictions do end when the ball touches the backboard. That's a basic and Billy knew that. Now you tell me, do the restrictions similarly end when the ball on a FT hits the flange?
I decided to not be lazy with this. I went into the other room, got out my bag, got the rule book out of my bag, and came up with a citation, even though I already knew Jurassic Referee was correct about LDUB's question.
9-1-4: The restrictions apply until the ball touches the ring or backboard or until the free throw ends.
It looks like Connecticut IAABO, in their prep school rule differences, "missed the boat" on this one.

Flange?
1-10-1: Basket shall consist of a single metal ring, it's flange and braces, and a net.
This definition is precisely worded for basket interference situations, but it doesn't seem to work for free throw violations, which only refer to the ring. Has the NFHS "missed the boat" on this one? Would it be easier to add flange and net to the free throw violation wording, or to substitute the word "basket" instead or ring in the same portion of the rule book? Or, does the NFHS have a reason for not including the flange in the rule.

Jurassic Referee: Have you known about this NFHS inconsistency for a while, or did you just discover it. Has anyone on this Forum noticed this, and if so, has anyone with any authority, like an association, or board, interpreter, tried to correct this?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2008, 09:05pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
1-10-1: Basket shall consist of a single metal ring, it's flange and braces, and a net.
This definition is precisely worded for basket interference situations, but it doesn't seem to work for free throw violations, which only refer to the ring. Has the NFHS "missed the boat" on this one? Would it be easier to add flange and net to the free throw violation wording, or to substitute the word "basket" instead or ring in the same portion of the rule book? Or, does the NFHS have a reason for not including the flange in the rule.

Jurassic Referee: Have you known about this NFHS inconsistency for a while, or did you just discover it.
Yup. I knew about the FED inconsistency but it just wasn't worth bothering about imo, Billy. I don't know how you could possibly have a ball hit just the flange with it also touching either the backboard or the ring at the same time. The ball is just too big to touch the flange only. The language difference is just inconsequential as far as I'm concerned. High school and NCAA officials call it exactly the same way anyway methinks.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2008, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Has the NFHS "missed the boat" on this one? Would it be easier to add flange and net to the free throw violation wording, or to substitute the word "basket" instead or ring in the same portion of the rule book?
If the ball hits the (outside of the) net without hitting the ring, it's pretty clear to me that the FT has ended.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2008, 07:33am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,513
NFHS And/Or NCAA ?????

[QUOTE=Jurassic Referee]The restrictions do end when the ball touches the backboard. QUOTE]

NFHS: Yes
NCAA: ????

NCAA officials. Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2008, 08:30am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
[QUOTE=BillyMac]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The restrictions do end when the ball touches the backboard. QUOTE]

NFHS: Yes
NCAA: ????

NCAA officials. Please help.
NCAA is backboard, flange or ring. NFHS is backboard or ring.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2008, 08:06pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,513
Thanks

[QUOTE=Jurassic Referee]
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
NCAA is backboard, flange or ring. NFHS is backboard or ring.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shot Clock - NY Carl Cramer Basketball 12 Thu Nov 16, 2006 09:02pm
H.S. Shot Clock garote Basketball 23 Mon Jul 10, 2006 01:45am
HS Shot Clock gostars Basketball 20 Tue Apr 19, 2005 03:31pm
Shot clock Redhouse Basketball 28 Wed Apr 13, 2005 04:20am
Shot Clock Problem, Without the Shot Clock!! rainmaker Basketball 6 Wed Jun 05, 2002 10:09am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1