The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What call if any? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41728-what-call-if-any.html)

Rita C Fri Feb 08, 2008 08:35pm

What call if any?
 
Boys JV. A1 is going in for a layup. One and a half steps and he's airborne. The shot is blocked and he lands with both feet still in possession of the ball.

[Edit: I'm thinking I used incorrect terminology. I should have said, "He was unable to get the shot off due to the defense." The defense never had hands on the ball.]

[Blocked shot must mean something else.]

Our crew had a discussion on this yesterday.

Rita

grunewar Fri Feb 08, 2008 08:43pm

I got case book 4.25.2 - Held ball. Go to AP arrow.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 08, 2008 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C
Boys JV. A1 is going in for a layup. One and a half steps and he's airborne. The shot is blocked and he lands with both feet still in possession of the ball.

Our crew had a discussion on this yesterday.

Rita

Sounds like the shot was prevented from being released. Textbook held ball.

Rita C Fri Feb 08, 2008 08:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar
I got case book 4.25.2 - Held ball. Go to AP arrow.

Maybe I need to be more clear. I may be using incorrect terminology.

I will edit my post.

Rita

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 08, 2008 09:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C
Boys JV. A1 is going in for a layup. One and a half steps and he's airborne. The shot is blocked and he lands with both feet still in possession of the ball.

[Edit: I'm thinking I used incorrect terminology. I should have said, "He was unable to get the shot off due to the defense." The defense never had hands on the ball.]

[Blocked shot must mean something else.]

Our crew had a discussion on this yesterday.

Rita

It sounds as though the defense had good pressure on the shooter causing the shooter to delay the release of the ball, until such time that the shooter already came back down with the ball.

So if the defense never had their hands on the ball, then it is a travel when the shooter comes back to the ground with the ball in his/her grasp.

mick Fri Feb 08, 2008 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
It sounds as though the defense had good pressure on the shooter causing the shooter to delay the release of the ball, until such time that the shooter already came back down with the ball.

So if the defense never had their hands on the ball, then it is a travel when the shooter comes back to the ground with the ball in his/her grasp.

...Or in basic terms, his lifted pivot foot returned to the floor.;)

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 08, 2008 09:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
...Or in basic terms, his lifted pivot foot returned to the floor.;)

YU.P. :p

Rita C Fri Feb 08, 2008 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
It sounds as though the defense had good pressure on the shooter causing the shooter to delay the release of the ball, until such time that the shooter already came back down with the ball.

So if the defense never had their hands on the ball, then it is a travel when the shooter comes back to the ground with the ball in his/her grasp.


Thank you. I instinctively blew my whistle on this one. It just looked wrong. (First time I've seen it.) But I had travel right away.

The bench right behind me disagreed.:p And my partners weren't so sure. (Fairly new officials.) There was no casebook with an identical situation. Of course, the fact that the player made a basket after he came down didn't help matters.

Thanks again.

Rita

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 08, 2008 10:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C
There was no casebook with an identical situation.

There's no need for a case book play when you have a very explicit rule covering the play.

See rule 4-44-3(b)--<i>"After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, if a player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."</i>

That's a rule with an identical situation.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 08, 2008 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
There's no need for a case book play when you have a very explicit rule covering the play.

See rule 4-44-3(b)--"After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, if a player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."

...Or?

Rita C Fri Feb 08, 2008 10:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
There's no need for a case book play when you have a very explicit rule covering the play.

See rule 4-44-3(b)--<i>"After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, if a player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."</i>

That's a rule with an identical situation.

But he hadn't come to a stop. He was dribbling and moving in for a layup. I suppose that if it could be considered a stop when he stops dribbling and goes up?......

Rita

JoeTheRef Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:13pm

This isn't a classic case of the ole "Up and Down" violation?:D

Rita C Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
This isn't a classic case of the ole "Up and Down" violation?:D

That's how I could rationalize it. It just isn't as clear cut because one can't really say a pivot foot has been established?

I could explain it to a coach easily enough that way but to fellow refs?

Rita

mick Sat Feb 09, 2008 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C
That's how I could rationalize it. It just isn't as clear cut because one can't really say a pivot foot has been established?

I could explain it to a coach easily enough that way but to fellow refs?

Rita

Boys JV. A1 is going in for a layup. One and a half steps and he's airborne. The shot is blocked and he lands with both feet still in possession of the ball. - Rita C [from OP]

When your JV player gathered the ball for his 1-1/2 steps, the last foot on the floor was his pivot foot. He then took a step with his free foot and elevated with both the free foot and the pivot foot in the air.

When the feet landed, the pivot foot retouched.

rainmaker Sat Feb 09, 2008 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
Boys JV. A1 is going in for a layup. One and a half steps and he's airborne. The shot is blocked and he lands with both feet still in possession of the ball. - Rita C [from OP]

When your JV player gathered the ball for his 1-1/2 steps, the last foot on the floor was his pivot foot. He then took a step with his free foot and elevated with both the free foot and the pivot foot in the air.

When the feet landed, the pivot foot retouched.

So what if he didn't gather the ball until he's already got both feet off the floor?

ball bounces, feet push straight up and body heads forbasket, then both hands on ball and pull it up toward the basket? Now, if he never shoots, is it legal to land? He never had a pivot foot, did he?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1