The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What call if any? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41728-what-call-if-any.html)

Rita C Fri Feb 08, 2008 08:35pm

What call if any?
 
Boys JV. A1 is going in for a layup. One and a half steps and he's airborne. The shot is blocked and he lands with both feet still in possession of the ball.

[Edit: I'm thinking I used incorrect terminology. I should have said, "He was unable to get the shot off due to the defense." The defense never had hands on the ball.]

[Blocked shot must mean something else.]

Our crew had a discussion on this yesterday.

Rita

grunewar Fri Feb 08, 2008 08:43pm

I got case book 4.25.2 - Held ball. Go to AP arrow.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 08, 2008 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C
Boys JV. A1 is going in for a layup. One and a half steps and he's airborne. The shot is blocked and he lands with both feet still in possession of the ball.

Our crew had a discussion on this yesterday.

Rita

Sounds like the shot was prevented from being released. Textbook held ball.

Rita C Fri Feb 08, 2008 08:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar
I got case book 4.25.2 - Held ball. Go to AP arrow.

Maybe I need to be more clear. I may be using incorrect terminology.

I will edit my post.

Rita

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 08, 2008 09:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C
Boys JV. A1 is going in for a layup. One and a half steps and he's airborne. The shot is blocked and he lands with both feet still in possession of the ball.

[Edit: I'm thinking I used incorrect terminology. I should have said, "He was unable to get the shot off due to the defense." The defense never had hands on the ball.]

[Blocked shot must mean something else.]

Our crew had a discussion on this yesterday.

Rita

It sounds as though the defense had good pressure on the shooter causing the shooter to delay the release of the ball, until such time that the shooter already came back down with the ball.

So if the defense never had their hands on the ball, then it is a travel when the shooter comes back to the ground with the ball in his/her grasp.

mick Fri Feb 08, 2008 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
It sounds as though the defense had good pressure on the shooter causing the shooter to delay the release of the ball, until such time that the shooter already came back down with the ball.

So if the defense never had their hands on the ball, then it is a travel when the shooter comes back to the ground with the ball in his/her grasp.

...Or in basic terms, his lifted pivot foot returned to the floor.;)

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 08, 2008 09:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
...Or in basic terms, his lifted pivot foot returned to the floor.;)

YU.P. :p

Rita C Fri Feb 08, 2008 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
It sounds as though the defense had good pressure on the shooter causing the shooter to delay the release of the ball, until such time that the shooter already came back down with the ball.

So if the defense never had their hands on the ball, then it is a travel when the shooter comes back to the ground with the ball in his/her grasp.


Thank you. I instinctively blew my whistle on this one. It just looked wrong. (First time I've seen it.) But I had travel right away.

The bench right behind me disagreed.:p And my partners weren't so sure. (Fairly new officials.) There was no casebook with an identical situation. Of course, the fact that the player made a basket after he came down didn't help matters.

Thanks again.

Rita

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 08, 2008 10:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C
There was no casebook with an identical situation.

There's no need for a case book play when you have a very explicit rule covering the play.

See rule 4-44-3(b)--<i>"After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, if a player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."</i>

That's a rule with an identical situation.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 08, 2008 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
There's no need for a case book play when you have a very explicit rule covering the play.

See rule 4-44-3(b)--"After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, if a player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."

...Or?

Rita C Fri Feb 08, 2008 10:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
There's no need for a case book play when you have a very explicit rule covering the play.

See rule 4-44-3(b)--<i>"After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, if a player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."</i>

That's a rule with an identical situation.

But he hadn't come to a stop. He was dribbling and moving in for a layup. I suppose that if it could be considered a stop when he stops dribbling and goes up?......

Rita

JoeTheRef Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:13pm

This isn't a classic case of the ole "Up and Down" violation?:D

Rita C Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
This isn't a classic case of the ole "Up and Down" violation?:D

That's how I could rationalize it. It just isn't as clear cut because one can't really say a pivot foot has been established?

I could explain it to a coach easily enough that way but to fellow refs?

Rita

mick Sat Feb 09, 2008 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C
That's how I could rationalize it. It just isn't as clear cut because one can't really say a pivot foot has been established?

I could explain it to a coach easily enough that way but to fellow refs?

Rita

Boys JV. A1 is going in for a layup. One and a half steps and he's airborne. The shot is blocked and he lands with both feet still in possession of the ball. - Rita C [from OP]

When your JV player gathered the ball for his 1-1/2 steps, the last foot on the floor was his pivot foot. He then took a step with his free foot and elevated with both the free foot and the pivot foot in the air.

When the feet landed, the pivot foot retouched.

rainmaker Sat Feb 09, 2008 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
Boys JV. A1 is going in for a layup. One and a half steps and he's airborne. The shot is blocked and he lands with both feet still in possession of the ball. - Rita C [from OP]

When your JV player gathered the ball for his 1-1/2 steps, the last foot on the floor was his pivot foot. He then took a step with his free foot and elevated with both the free foot and the pivot foot in the air.

When the feet landed, the pivot foot retouched.

So what if he didn't gather the ball until he's already got both feet off the floor?

ball bounces, feet push straight up and body heads forbasket, then both hands on ball and pull it up toward the basket? Now, if he never shoots, is it legal to land? He never had a pivot foot, did he?

Jurassic Referee Sat Feb 09, 2008 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
So what if he didn't gather the ball until he's already got both feet off the floor?

ball bounces, feet push straight up and body heads forbasket, then both hands on ball and pull it up toward the basket? Now, if he never shoots, is it legal to land? He never had a pivot foot, did he?

Rule 4-44-2(a)

Back In The Saddle Sat Feb 09, 2008 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
So what if he didn't gather the ball until he's already got both feet off the floor?

ball bounces, feet push straight up and body heads forbasket, then both hands on ball and pull it up toward the basket? Now, if he never shoots, is it legal to land? He never had a pivot foot, did he?

You know, with everything we have to watch at once, I admit that I couldn't tell you exactly when a player going for a layup picked up the ball. But this scenario sounds like one that would get my attention. Not actually gathering the ball until he's already airborne? I think you're right about it not being a travel. But it's probably 50/50 as to whether I'd call it (even though I try never to call a travel on something just because it looks funny, occassionally I do call a "that's gotta be a travel" travel).

rainmaker Sat Feb 09, 2008 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
You know, with everything we have to watch at once, I admit that I couldn't tell you exactly when a player going for a layup picked up the ball. But this scenario sounds like one that would get my attention. Not actually gathering the ball until he's already airborne? I think you're right about it not being a travel. But it's probably 50/50 as to whether I'd call it (even though I try never to call a travel on something that looks funny, occassionally I do call a "that's gotta be a travel" travel).

Yea, probably gonna be hard to see. It just occurred to me that we really do need to be sure we keep track of when the ball is "gathered", ie when the dribble ends.

did you get my PM?

Back In The Saddle Sat Feb 09, 2008 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Yea, probably gonna be hard to see. It just occurred to me that we really do need to be sure we keep track of when the ball is "gathered", ie when the dribble ends.

did you get my PM?

Got your PM. Did you get my email?

JugglingReferee Sat Feb 09, 2008 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Yea, probably gonna be hard to see. It just occurred to me that we really do need to be sure we keep track of when the ball is "gathered", ie when the dribble ends.

did you get my PM?

Good advice. When I first went to camp, I learned very quickly to be able to identify which foot is/was the pivot foot.

rainmaker Sat Feb 09, 2008 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
Got your PM. Did you get my email?

yup thanks. Isn't technology wonderful!? ;)

mick Sat Feb 09, 2008 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
So what if he didn't gather the ball until he's already got both feet off the floor?

ball bounces, feet push straight up and body heads forbasket, then both hands on ball and pull it up toward the basket? Now, if he never shoots, is it legal to land? He never had a pivot foot, did he?

Yes, rebounding remains legal, but not part of the sitch. :)

Adam Sun Feb 10, 2008 12:46am

Just a thought. This could be a legal jump stop.
Player gathers ball while in the air.
Player plants one foot and jumps off that foot, with the intent to shoot.
Player decides not to shoot and lands on both feet simultaneously.

Crowd will scream for a travel because it looks ugly.

Jurassic Referee Sun Feb 10, 2008 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Just a thought. This could be a legal jump stop.
Player gathers ball while in the air.
Player plants one foot and jumps off that foot, with the intent to shoot.
Player decides not to shoot and lands on both feet simultaneously.

Crowd will scream for a travel because it looks ugly.

Um, yes.....that's exactly why you use rule 4.44-2(a) when the ball is gathered by an airborne player.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1