The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What call if any? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41728-what-call-if-any.html)

Jurassic Referee Sat Feb 09, 2008 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
So what if he didn't gather the ball until he's already got both feet off the floor?

ball bounces, feet push straight up and body heads forbasket, then both hands on ball and pull it up toward the basket? Now, if he never shoots, is it legal to land? He never had a pivot foot, did he?

Rule 4-44-2(a)

Back In The Saddle Sat Feb 09, 2008 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
So what if he didn't gather the ball until he's already got both feet off the floor?

ball bounces, feet push straight up and body heads forbasket, then both hands on ball and pull it up toward the basket? Now, if he never shoots, is it legal to land? He never had a pivot foot, did he?

You know, with everything we have to watch at once, I admit that I couldn't tell you exactly when a player going for a layup picked up the ball. But this scenario sounds like one that would get my attention. Not actually gathering the ball until he's already airborne? I think you're right about it not being a travel. But it's probably 50/50 as to whether I'd call it (even though I try never to call a travel on something just because it looks funny, occassionally I do call a "that's gotta be a travel" travel).

rainmaker Sat Feb 09, 2008 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
You know, with everything we have to watch at once, I admit that I couldn't tell you exactly when a player going for a layup picked up the ball. But this scenario sounds like one that would get my attention. Not actually gathering the ball until he's already airborne? I think you're right about it not being a travel. But it's probably 50/50 as to whether I'd call it (even though I try never to call a travel on something that looks funny, occassionally I do call a "that's gotta be a travel" travel).

Yea, probably gonna be hard to see. It just occurred to me that we really do need to be sure we keep track of when the ball is "gathered", ie when the dribble ends.

did you get my PM?

Back In The Saddle Sat Feb 09, 2008 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Yea, probably gonna be hard to see. It just occurred to me that we really do need to be sure we keep track of when the ball is "gathered", ie when the dribble ends.

did you get my PM?

Got your PM. Did you get my email?

JugglingReferee Sat Feb 09, 2008 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Yea, probably gonna be hard to see. It just occurred to me that we really do need to be sure we keep track of when the ball is "gathered", ie when the dribble ends.

did you get my PM?

Good advice. When I first went to camp, I learned very quickly to be able to identify which foot is/was the pivot foot.

rainmaker Sat Feb 09, 2008 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
Got your PM. Did you get my email?

yup thanks. Isn't technology wonderful!? ;)

mick Sat Feb 09, 2008 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
So what if he didn't gather the ball until he's already got both feet off the floor?

ball bounces, feet push straight up and body heads forbasket, then both hands on ball and pull it up toward the basket? Now, if he never shoots, is it legal to land? He never had a pivot foot, did he?

Yes, rebounding remains legal, but not part of the sitch. :)

Adam Sun Feb 10, 2008 12:46am

Just a thought. This could be a legal jump stop.
Player gathers ball while in the air.
Player plants one foot and jumps off that foot, with the intent to shoot.
Player decides not to shoot and lands on both feet simultaneously.

Crowd will scream for a travel because it looks ugly.

Jurassic Referee Sun Feb 10, 2008 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Just a thought. This could be a legal jump stop.
Player gathers ball while in the air.
Player plants one foot and jumps off that foot, with the intent to shoot.
Player decides not to shoot and lands on both feet simultaneously.

Crowd will scream for a travel because it looks ugly.

Um, yes.....that's exactly why you use rule 4.44-2(a) when the ball is gathered by an airborne player.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1