The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2008, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
(Art. 2a) Penalized if discovered before ball becomes live to start game.

Is this penalized?

Scorer makes discovery as R approaches circle.
R tosses ball.
Ball tapped by A1 to A2.
Horn, Whistle by U.
Scorer notifies R of the error.

T or does this not count as discovery before ball is live?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2008, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
It was my understanding that two administrative fouls can be called in some instances:

Team fails to make available the roster names and starters before the ten minute mark. T-foul #1.

Five minutes into the game, table reports that #4 is playing and is not in either book. T-foul #2.

If I'm corect, and I'm sure that if I'm wrong, I'll be corrected in a few minutes, it may be confusing to rookie officials to say that a maximum of one adminstrative technical foul may be given.
Am I right, or wrong? Help.
Either book? Why would they be using more than one?
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2008, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser
(Art. 2a) Penalized if discovered before ball becomes live to start game.

Is this penalized?

Scorer makes discovery as R approaches circle.
R tosses ball.
Ball tapped by A1 to A2.
Horn, Whistle by U.
Scorer notifies R of the error.

T or does this not count as discovery before ball is live?
Very tricky question, because while you say that the scorer discovers the error prior to the ball becoming live, it isn't recognized by the officials until after the ball has become live.

You also don't say what the error is that was discovered by the scorer. If the error is that one of the players in the game was not a designated starter, then it is too late to penalize this because the ball has become live. Any other item covered in the list could still be penalized at this time.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2008, 08:12pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Copying Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
Either book? Why would they be using more than one?
In case there is an error in copying. I'm not going to penalize the visiting team if the home scorekeeper incorrectly copies the numbers. If there is a #30 in the visiting book, and #20 is copied by mistake into the home "official" book, I'm not penalizing the visiting team if #30 is in the game, and the scorekeeper brings it to my attention that, "There is no #30 in the book".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Administrative Technical Chess Ref Basketball 17 Sun Nov 11, 2007 11:30pm
150 % increase in techs ronny mulkey Basketball 8 Sun Jan 16, 2005 11:51pm
Administrative "T" rainmaker Basketball 15 Tue Dec 07, 2004 01:11pm
administrative technical jr Basketball 7 Mon Dec 15, 2003 03:26pm
Pre-game Techs Nevadaref Basketball 8 Mon Nov 11, 2002 02:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1