The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 29, 2008, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 44
Yea I was pissed that Gottleib came right out and say it was a goaltend 100%, there was no question in his mind. But then again its pretty comfy to call a game wearing a suit drinking FIJI water while someone does your hair. He even went to the length of telling the other analyst he was wrong when he mentioned there had to be some doubt.

IMO it was the right call. You can't make something up. This is what I've been hearing from people (I'm fairly new, trying to decide was is worthy to listen to, and whats BS): its worse to call something that didn't happen, than to not call something that did.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 29, 2008, 02:54pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTBegTM-uCY

YouTube codes are funny because sometimes you get words in amongst the codes.

OTBeg... imagine the spread was 2 and the losing coach was begging for overtime after his claim of GT.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 29, 2008, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 44
Here's an interesting situation along the lines of what happened in the G-WV game.
Say the lay-up is released, and then the buzzer sounds, and then the Hoyas player tips the ball legally (before the apex).
What is the call if the ball then goes in through the bucket?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 29, 2008, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 162
If you watched the game live and saw it at regular speed it looked like a block. Only after the highlight did it look closer to a goaltend. Close play either way .
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 07:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemer
Here's an interesting situation along the lines of what happened in the G-WV game.
Say the lay-up is released, and then the buzzer sounds, and then the Hoyas player tips the ball legally (before the apex).
What is the call if the ball then goes in through the bucket?
NFHS rule: 6-7

NOTE: If A1's try or tap is legally touched in flight, the goal counts if made, if the horn sounds before or after the legal touching. If the touching is interference or goaltending by A, no points are scored. If B violates, the points are awarded – either two or three depending on whether it was a two or three-point try or tap.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ohio State & Georgetown All_Heart Basketball 45 Sun Jun 03, 2007 05:36am
Georgetown/UNC tomegun Basketball 4 Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:11pm
Virginia Tech/Virginia refTN Basketball 13 Fri Mar 10, 2006 08:37am
Virginia/Minnesota edman42 Football 1 Tue Jan 03, 2006 08:16pm
Virginia-Georgetown TGR Basketball 6 Mon Mar 20, 2000 09:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1