![]() |
Speaking of correctable/non-correctable errors
Was watching the JV game before my varsity girls game last night.
We have a shooting foul, player shoots a free throw. Then the table gives the official a horn and sheepishly admits they missed the fact that this was the fifth foul on the person fouling. So big deal, right? Get her out, get a sub in, off we go, right? Well, the visiting coach and the R spend a good 3 minutes discussing this, with the visiting coach getting heated over it. Seems he wanted the FT not to count and he wanted to make the player shoot over again. They didn't and I was ready to congratulate the JV guy for getting it right except he said that had the shooter missed he would've awarded a replacement free throw. Oh well. |
Rich,
I know that you know this, but for others who may read this thread here is the official NFHS ruling for that scenario. 2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 3: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2’s fifth foul. The new trail official reports the fifth foul to Team B’s coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The officials realize the error and huddle to discuss the situation. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team B’s head coach shall be notified of B2’s disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an official’s error and not a correctable-error situation according to Rule 2-10. (2-8-3, 4-14-1, 6-1-2c, 10-5-1d) |
Zoiks!
Quote:
|
In the Interpretation...
Quote:
Trail official is 'administering' the management of replacing a disqualified player... maybe the dq'd player is heading for the bench. Your numbskulled partner gives the ball to A1 for the first of one-and-one... what do we have if she: makes? misses? |
Quote:
http://forum.officiating.com/showthread.php?t=40233 |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43pm. |