The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 02:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Did the officials award B the win?
My opinion is that the officials should have played out the entire regulation time.
Yes, team b was awarded the win
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 06:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
I have never actually seen this happen, but what if Team B is in the bonus and gets a 1 and 1? At this point in the game Team A is down to one player. How do you administer the free throw? Do you make A1 take one of the first positions for the free throw? Can I assume that this is one instance where Team A does not have to occupy both spots because they only have one player remaining? If not, I guess you could just award Team B two points since you would have continuous free throw violations and keep re-shooting until the player makes it. By the way I agree with everyone else here. They should have played it out. I'm not a coach but I with that little time left I have some thoughts on what I would do as a coach to win this game still if I was Team A's coach. I also assume that when the OP says A12 fouled out, that means that Team A had 12 players. Has anyone ever had a game where 11 players on a team fouled out? That's 55 fouls, at least, plus whatever the last player left has. Wow!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrao
I have never actually seen this happen, but what if Team B is in the bonus and gets a 1 and 1? At this point in the game Team A is down to one player. How do you administer the free throw? Do you make A1 take one of the first positions for the free throw? Can I assume that this is one instance where Team A does not have to occupy both spots because they only have one player remaining? If not, I guess you could just award Team B two points since you would have continuous free throw violations and keep re-shooting until the player makes it. By the way I agree with everyone else here. They should have played it out. I'm not a coach but I with that little time left I have some thoughts on what I would do as a coach to win this game still if I was Team A's coach. I also assume that when the OP says A12 fouled out, that means that Team A had 12 players. Has anyone ever had a game where 11 players on a team fouled out? That's 55 fouls, at least, plus whatever the last player left has. Wow!
This is a good question and I don't know the rule. Is Team A assessed a technical foul for not having players occupy both lower lane spaces? I don't see any other option according to the rules but admit that I'm not sure if there is an exception somewhere.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 08:07am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
This is a good question and I don't know the rule. Is Team A assessed a technical foul for not having players occupy both lower lane spaces? I don't see any other option according to the rules but admit that I'm not sure if there is an exception somewhere.
No technical foul if only one defensive player is available. I'll hunt around and find the backing citation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
No technical foul if only one defensive player is available. I'll hunt around and find the backing citation.
Great, thanks Rut.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
the timing is what is wrong here. A is ahead. So official shouldn't call the game until and if team B shoots and makes the 3 free throws to tie. If they tie the game - how is A supposed to inbound the ball? I know this is a risk to say - but any SMART coach in this situation is going to pull all their players to the far end of the court and after B1 shoots he should be going to at least division line. A can make throw in pass - but it's doubtful anyone would legally touch it. Violation, B's ball at spot. Call the game at this point if you are going to call it. But if all this happened with only 6.3 left - I'd have let it play out. I just think it looks better - especially if A had been playing hard with only 2 players and was still ahead in the game.
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Great, thanks Rut.
Hey -- there's no need for that kind of insult.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 08:50am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Hey -- there's no need for that kind of insult.
Insult to Rut?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Hey -- there's no need for that kind of insult.
Oops. My bad. Sorry JR, and Rut.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
This is a good question and I don't know the rule. Is Team A assessed a technical foul for not having players occupy both lower lane spaces? I don't see any other option according to the rules but admit that I'm not sure if there is an exception somewhere.
I have both good news and bad news for you. I'll leave it up to you to determine which is which.

The question that you pose has already been thought of and posted on this very forum by yours truly, and then it was subsequently answered by the NFHS in one of the interpretations it issues at the start of each season. (So when it comes to HS basketball you think as I do. See told you that I had both good and bad news!)
If I recall the thread I created (perhaps someone can find it with the search function) involved the phrase "never-ending game" as I posited that a team which found itself trailing an opponent with only one player left, but not enough time to score sufficient points to catch-up could repeatedly miss a FT attempt as long as it struck the ring because the defending team would have to be charged with a violation for not occupying both of the first marked lane spaces.
The NFHS quickly issued a ruling, which stated not to penalize the team with only one player left for doing all that is possible.

Here's the ruling:

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3)
> >
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I have both good news and bad news for you. I'll leave it up to you to determine which is which.

The question that you pose has already been thought of and posted on this very forum by yours truly, and then it was subsequently answered by the NFHS in one of the interpretations it issues at the start of each season. (So when it comes to HS basketball you think as I do. See told you that I had both good and bad news!)
If I recall the thread I created (perhaps someone can find it with the search function) involved the phrase "never-ending game" as I posited that a team which found itself trailing an opponent with only one player left, but not enough time to score sufficient points to catch-up could repeatedly miss a FT attempt as long as it struck the ring because the defending team would have to be charged with a violation for not occupying both of the first marked lane spaces.
The NFHS quickly issued a ruling, which stated not to penalize the team with only one player left for doing all that is possible.

Here's the ruling:

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3)
> >
Thanks, Nevada, and I'll look at it as good news.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I have both good news and bad news for you. I'll leave it up to you to determine which is which.


2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3)
> >
Now - about the throw-ins .............................
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by chartrusepengui
Now - about the throw-ins .............................
Another player on the court, in this case one on the opposing team, must touch or be touched by the ball before the thrower can touch the ball. Otherwise it is a throw-in violation. The NFHS has not waived that requirement of game play.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 09:46am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Another player on the court, in this case one on the opposing team, must touch or be touched by the ball before the thrower can touch the ball. Otherwise it is a throw-in violation.
...And the clock may be running out.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 06:51am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Yes, team b was awarded the win
Then the officials did not know how to properly the rule and imho, cost A a real shot shot at being the game's winners.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1