![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
But... the rule doesn't say "dribbles in AND moves immediately", it says "dribbles in OR moves immediately". Its that "OR" part of this rule that leaves a lot to be defined. It seems to give the player the option to either 1) dribble in to try for goal; OR, 2) move immediately to try for goal. With that being said, the rule would "allow" a player already in lane for <3 seconds to receive the ball and then "back down" his opponent as he "dribbles in" toward the goal. I am really trying to not "read too much into the rules," nor split hairs. However, there is clearly an "OR" in that rule and not an "AND". Plus, using an unquantified expression like "Allowance shall be made..." leaves the door open to have varying interpretations and outcomes for this type of lane play. Thanks, Paul |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NFHS "Low Block" on defense | ljd5521 | Football | 8 | Sun Sep 30, 2007 08:12am |
Can "FOUL" be made "FAIR"? | PAT THE REF | Baseball | 60 | Sat Feb 24, 2007 09:01pm |
2007 NFHS Rules Changes - "Step and Reach" | Dakota | Softball | 8 | Mon Jul 10, 2006 02:46pm |