The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 10:37am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
We got together and called a block by prone player B1 on rebounder A2 and awarded ball to A on the endline.
Read rule 4-23-1 --specifically the part that says "Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court providing such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent."-- and let me know if you've changed your mind.

Unless A2 was in the air on the put-back and B2 moved under him, I don't see where you have rules justification to call a foul on B2. What rule did you use?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Read rule 4-23-1 --specifically the part that says "Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court providing such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent."-- and let me know if you've changed your mind.

Unless A2 was in the air on the put-back and B2 moved under him, I don't see where you have rules justification to call a foul on B2. What rule did you use?
btw he had the foul right by ncaa interpretation. NCAA view is that a player down on the floor does not have a legitimate defensive position and is responsible for contact.

I kinda like this better than the fed interp.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
btw he had the foul right by ncaa interpretation. NCAA view is that a player down on the floor does not have a legitimate defensive position and is responsible for contact.

I kinda like this better than the fed interp.
Hmmm...this is what I was agreeing with - I got the interps mixed up. I was thinking the Fed interp was that this was a foul, and the NCAA interp was that it wasn't a foul. Thanks for the clarification.

So...in the OP - no whistle unless there's a travel?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Hmmm...this is what I was agreeing with - I got the interps mixed up. I was thinking the Fed interp was that this was a foul, and the NCAA interp was that it wasn't a foul. Thanks for the clarification.

So...in the OP - no whistle unless there's a travel?
Yep, under fed.

Or if someone's head gets stomped in and the blood makes the floor too slippery to continue. But do wait to see if there's a put back first.

edit to say the putback comment was made before I read Bob's post. great minds think alike!

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 11:43am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
edit to say the putback comment was made before I read Bob's post. great minds think alike!
I agree also. That's two great minds and a not-so-great one.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Read rule 4-23-1 --specifically the part that says "Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court providing such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent."-- and let me know if you've changed your mind.

Unless A2 was in the air on the put-back and B2 moved under him, I don't see where you have rules justification to call a foul on B2. What rule did you use?
Wait a second...I agree that B2 may not have illegally contacted A2 getting to his prone position on the floor in this scenario but....

Does LGP come into play on this? If B2 does not have LGP (in this case, laying on the court) and there is contact with the shooter A2 during his natural shooting motion that causes him to have contact with B2 wouldn't we have justification to call a foul on B2 for blocking? I can't very well call a PC on this cause B2 is on the floor and not in LGP...

As I'm playing this in my mind, I'm wondering if a no call or block is correct. It's really one you have to see happen but I am inclined to have a no call here if the contact between the two players is merely A2 accidentally stepping on B2....

Then that brings the question, what if A2 STOMPS on him?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 11:36am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
Does LGP come into play on this? If B2 does not have LGP (in this case, laying on the court) and there is contact with the shooter A2 during his natural shooting motion that causes him to have contact with B2 wouldn't we have justification to call a foul on B2 for blocking? I can't very well call a PC on this cause B2 is on the floor and not in LGP...
No, LGP has got nothing to do with the call. Can a rebounder run into the back of an opponent? There's no LGP involved there either. Can a dribbler run into the back of an opponent that has taken a position with his back turned several steps in front of the dribbler? No LGP there either. Can anybody legally run into an opponent who has already taken a legal position on the court?

B2 may not have a LGP, but that doesn't mean that B2 isn't in a legal position. Under FED rules, there is no justification that I know of for calling a foul on B2 for blocking when B2 has attained a legal position on the court, even if that legal position is lying down.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
No, LGP has got nothing to do with the call. Can a rebounder run into the back of an opponent? There's no LGP involved there either. Can a dribbler run into the back of an opponent that has taken a position with his back turned several steps in front of the dribbler? No LGP there either. Can anybody legally run into an opponent who has already taken a legal position on the court?

B2 may not have a LGP, but that doesn't mean that B2 isn't in a legal position. Under FED rules, there is no justification that I know of for calling a foul on B2 for blocking when B2 has attained a legal position on the court, even if that legal position is lying down.
Very well worded...I see what you are saying using the rebounder running into the back of an opponent. Make perfect sense now...Let em play!

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
Wait a second...I agree that B2 may not have illegally contacted A2 getting to his prone position on the floor in this scenario but....

Does LGP come into play on this? If B2 does not have LGP (in this case, laying on the court) and there is contact with the shooter A2 during his natural shooting motion that causes him to have contact with B2 wouldn't we have justification to call a foul on B2 for blocking? I can't very well call a PC on this cause B2 is on the floor and not in LGP...

As I'm playing this in my mind, I'm wondering if a no call or block is correct. It's really one you have to see happen but I am inclined to have a no call here if the contact between the two players is merely A2 accidentally stepping on B2....

Then that brings the question, what if A2 STOMPS on him?
LGP has nothing to do with this. LGP gives the defensive player additional rights (primarily the right to move obliquely). If the defensive player isn't moving, then LGP is not an issue.

On the OP, if A2 is in a great postion for a put-back, then I let the play continue.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
Then that brings the question, what if A2 STOMPS on him?
This was the question that popped into my head. I think you have to have an intentional. It can't be a technical since it's a contact foul, so that's what I would go with.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Score the basket or on the floor? tomegun Basketball 25 Thu Nov 17, 2005 05:13am
ball bouncing off floor into basket!!! jritchie Basketball 11 Fri Oct 21, 2005 04:00am
Six on the floor...count the basket? theboys Basketball 4 Mon Apr 04, 2005 09:38am
Sanctioning bodies comparison Tennessee10UCoach Softball 9 Thu Jul 08, 2004 03:41am
Basket no Parallel to Floor Ron Pilo Basketball 9 Mon Feb 04, 2002 06:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1