The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
Girls Freshman game. I'm lead. Players A1 and B1 fighting for a rebound. They bring it down. I blow Held Ball. Just after whistle B1 pushes A1 pretty hard (coming out of their death grip). I blow whistle a 2nd time for push on B1.

I go to my veteran partner. "Partner I have a jump ball and then a push on B1. He kind of scratches his whiskers like I had asked him who played 3rd base for the '67 Detroit Tigers.

We end up reversing the arrow and have a personal foul on B1. Ball given to Team A for inbounds.

I know in the back of my head that I've screwed this up. Of course no one in the gym for this freshman girls game knows any better. It takes about 2 minutes for me to realize what we should have done.

At least I went to my partner and we caucused (unlike another recent play I kicked).

I hope I don't have to kick each call in a "new" situation once in order to learn them enough to respond properly immediately in the future.
So what do you think you should have done for the sake of discussion?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
Well, once I blow the whistle...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junker
So what do you think you should have done for the sake of discussion?
.... for the held ball, the ball is dead. During a dead ball, contact between players is either to be ignored, or .... I believe.... that we would have had an intentional technical foul on B1.

Reverse arrow for held ball.
Team A shoots 2 with lane cleared.
Team A ball at the division line.

Now, that is what I realized after two minutes, but before putting my a$$ on the line here I did verify.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
.... for the held ball, the ball is dead. During a dead ball, contact between players is either to be ignored, or .... I believe.... that we would have had an intentional technical foul on B1.

Reverse arrow for held ball.
Team A shoots 2 with lane cleared.
Team A ball at the division line.

Now, that is what I realized after two minutes, but before putting my a$$ on the line here I did verify.
The intentional T wipes out the held ball under HS & ncaa mens rules so don't touch the arrow. Not sure what ncaa w do, I believe it's POI. If that's the case then you shoot the FTs then go to the held ball throw-in. In any case do not reverse the arrow until the throw-in is completed.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
.... for the held ball, the ball is dead. During a dead ball, contact between players is either to be ignored, or .... I believe.... that we would have had an intentional technical foul on B1.

Reverse arrow for held ball.
Team A shoots 2 with lane cleared.
Team A ball at the division line.

Now, that is what I realized after two minutes, but before putting my a$$ on the line here I did verify.
The contact is ignored unless it's intentional or flagrant, and then it's an IT or FT foul.

The arrow isn't reversed until the AP throw-in ends. Since there won't be an AP throw-in, the arrow stays the same.

As I read the play, I'd go with the held ball and just admonish B1 to stop play when the whistle blows (but you were there and I wasn't and only you can know whether the contact meets the definition of intentional).

I agree that Don Wert is the correct answer to the real question posed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
Ah. See title of original post!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The contact is ignored unless it's intentional or flagrant, and then it's an IT or FT foul.

The arrow isn't reversed until the AP throw-in ends. Since there won't be an AP throw-in, the arrow stays the same.

As I read the play, I'd go with the held ball and just admonish B1 to stop play when the whistle blows (but you were there and I wasn't and only you can know whether the contact meets the definition of intentional).

I agree that Don Wert is the correct answer to the real question posed.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 11:32am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
.... for the held ball, the ball is dead. During a dead ball, contact between players is either to be ignored, or .... I believe.... that we would have had an intentional technical foul on B1.

Reverse arrow for held ball.
Team A shoots 2 with lane cleared.
Team A ball at the division line.
Are you sure that the arrow should be reversed?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
Sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Are you sure that the arrow should be reversed?
I am now completely sure of whether to reverse arrow!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
I am now completely sure of whether to reverse arrow!
Far better to make mistakes on here than on the court!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
.... for the held ball, the ball is dead. During a dead ball, contact between players is either to be ignored, or .... I believe.... that we would have had an intentional technical foul on B1.

Reverse arrow for held ball.
Team A shoots 2 with lane cleared.
Team A ball at the division line.

Now, that is what I realized after two minutes, but before putting my a$$ on the line here I did verify.
Well now remember, I'm just a dumb old coach...

But...

If you called the T (I think the only type of foul possible during a dead ball, right), why would you change the arrow since it was never used to determine possession?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
Ah. See title of original post!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeT
Well now remember, I'm just a dumb old coach...

But...

If you called the T (I think the only type of foul possible during a dead ball, right), why would you change the arrow since it was never used to determine possession?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harwinton, CT
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
Reverse arrow for held ball.
Team A shoots 2 with lane cleared.
Team A ball at the division line.

Now, that is what I realized after two minutes, but before putting my a$$ on the line here I did verify.
The only thing I don't think is right here is the changing of the arrow. Although you called a held ball, you never used the AP procedure so the arrow would not change. Remember, the arrow only changes once the AP throw-in is completed or the throwing in team violates.

I do agree though that the push was dead ball contact and either had to be considered incidental or you have to go with the T.

edited to add: WOW 4 posts all saying the same thing at the same time..... And they say we refs can't agree on things...
__________________
"Some guys they just give up living, and start dying little by little, piece by piece. Some guys come home from work and wash-up, and they go Racing In The Street." - Springsteen, 1978

Last edited by cmckenna; Wed Jan 16, 2008 at 11:35am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
Ah. See title of original post!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmckenna
The only thing I don't think is right here is the changing of the arrow. Although you called a held ball, you never used the AP procedure so the arrow would not change. Remember, the arrow only changes once the AP throw-in is completed or the throwing in team violates.

I do agree though that the push was dead ball contact and either had to be considered incidental or you have to go with the T.

edited to add: WOW 4 posts all saying the same thing at the same time..... And they say we refs can't agree on things...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
.... for the held ball, the ball is dead. During a dead ball, contact between players is either to be ignored, or .... I believe.... that we would have had an intentional technical foul on B1.

Reverse arrow for held ball.
Team A shoots 2 with lane cleared.
Team A ball at the division line.

Now, that is what I realized after two minutes, but before putting my a$$ on the line here I did verify.
Dan's right. Here's the correct NFHS procedure. Since there is no AP throw-in there is no reason to reverse the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Wow, multiple responses in the few minutes that it took me to craft a post!

It kind of looks like we're all jumping on the poor guy, but I'm sure that's not the case. Sometimes the posts just come fast and furious.

So CA, how does that @ss which you put on the line feel after the beating it just took?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
Like Jon Lovitz used to say...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Wow, multiple responses in the few minutes that it took me to craft a post!

It kind of looks like we're all jumping on the poor guy, but I'm sure that's not the case. Sometimes the posts just come fast and furious.

So CA, how does that @ss which you put on the line feel after the beating it just took?
"Well smack my bare a$$ and call me Judy!"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tall Tales rainmaker Basketball 11 Thu Oct 05, 2017 10:03am
Tales of a 1st Year: Some firsts last night ca_rumperee Basketball 17 Sat Jan 12, 2008 12:23am
Rat Tales C'monBlue Baseball 3 Sat Apr 22, 2006 01:38pm
Tales from the Twilight Zone Back In The Saddle Basketball 2 Sat Feb 04, 2006 08:35pm
first year ref an first year coach blarson Basketball 4 Thu Dec 19, 2002 04:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1