![]() |
|
|
|||
[quote=BktBallRef]
An official has the authority to over turn another's call. I don't know about overturning. I know an official can bring information to the one making the call and allow that official to change the call if so desired. The referee can make a final decision when officials don't agree. But, when it comes to judgement. Personally, I will not overturn for the sake of overturning. In the OP, I see a situation where there is a lack of trust do to the OP being a first year official.
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Quote:
The only thing that the referee can make a final decision on between officials is whether a goal counts or not if the officials disagree. In all other situations, the officials involved have to come to some kind of agreement. The referee cannot overrule either of them. NFHS rules 2-5-3 and 2-6. |
|
|||
My partner reached quite deep into my territory (I was lead and it was right in front of me) and called a foul last night. I let it go but it just reminded me that I have to make sure I don't do the same. A million thoughts can go through your head while the ball is not in your territory but I have to continually re-focus to "watch my primary" and keep my eyes from roving elsewhere (except for an occasional glance).
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
There is nothing in the rule book that gives one official the right to over turn another's call.
There are some plays like where one official would grant a timeout without control, then we can talk about that. Fouls are fouls. We need to trust our partners to officiate their primary. Even the best officials kick calls. It is part of our avocation. If it was really a bad call, a good idea might be to talk about the play at halftime or postgame. What did you see on that foul call? How did you feel about that fould call? Do your best to engage the official without calling them out and telling them their call sucked. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
When the obvious call isn't the right call | Don Mueller | Baseball | 28 | Mon Aug 20, 2007 01:46am |
can you overturn a call? | JohnBark | Basketball | 16 | Wed Dec 01, 2004 05:09pm |
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |